122 (12 sets)
Alchemy is the third expansion to Base Dominion by Donald X. Vaccarino, released in 2010 by publisher Rio Grande Games. The box contains 12 sets of Kingdom cards, and 1 basic card. The main themes of the set are Potions and Actions, featuring the only cards in the game with in their cost, and many cards encouraging decks filled with Action cards.
 Basic Supply Cards
- Potion is included in the Supply whenever at least one of the Kingdom Cards included in the game has in its cost.
 Kingdom Cards
 Rules for Alchemy
- After you choose 10 Kingdom cards for the Supply, if any of them have Black Market, and the Black Market deck includes at least one card with in the cost. If you don't have any cards with in the cost in the Supply or in the Black Market deck, do not use the Potion pile in this game. in the cost, add the Potion pile to the Supply. Also add the Potion pile if you are using the promotional card
- When you have a Potion pile, put all 16 Potions in it, no matter how many players there are. In games using this pile, if the pile becomes empty, that will count towards the game ending condition, like any other Supply pile.
- You can play Dominion using any number of Kingdom cards from Alchemy, but we especially recommend playing with 3 - 5 Alchemy cards at once.
 Playing the Game
- Potion is a new Basic Treasure card. It costs , and when played produces rather than coins. has no equivalent in coins. To buy a card with in the cost, a player needs .
- Buying cards using works just like buying cards with coins. If a player has , he could buy a card costing , or a card costing , and so on. If he has and an extra Buy, he could buy a card costing and a card costing , or a card costing and a card costing , and so on. He could not buy two cards costing , because he has only one . He needs per card he wants to buy that has in the cost.
- Some cards refer to how much a card costs. Generally, adding
to a cost gives a a player a higher cost: is more than . More specifically:
- References to cards costing “up to” some cost only include if is in the given cost. If is in the cost, a player can drop the and it is still "up to," but a player cannot add if it is not there.
- If a card only costs
(Vineyard, Transmute), the number of coins in that card's cost is .
- Example: when a player uses University to Gain an Action card costing up to , the player may not gain a card with in the cost. A card costing does not cost or less. It is just like Buying a card - if a player just has , he cannot buy a card with in the cost. However if a player uses Remodel to trash a card costing , he could gain a card costing or a card costing , as those are both "up to" .
- Adding coins to a cost doesn't affect
being in the cost or not. If was in the cost, it still is; if it wasn't, it still isn't. Same with subtracting coins from a cost.
- Example: Remodel allows a player to gain a card costing up to Bridge makes cards cost less this turn. This lowers the cost of a card costing to . It does nothing to the cost of a card costing just . more than the trashed card. Trashing a card that costs would not let the player gain a card costing using Remodel. However, a player could use Remodel to trash a card costing to gain a card costing . A player could also trash a card costing to gain a card costing (with no ).
- References to cards costing some number of coins “or more” include cards with or without
in the cost.
- Example: since Saboteur trashes a card costing at least , it could trash a card with in the cost. A card costing costs at least . A card costing also costs or more. A card costing does not cost " or more" because it does not have at least in the cost.
- References to a cost range in does not include cards with in the cost.
- Cards which convert a cost into a number do not do anything with
- Example: Salvager trashes a card, and produces an amount of coins equal to the cost of the card. If a player trashes a card costing , he will just get .
- Cards which check if two costs are the same include
if it is there.
- Example: Swindler trashes a card, and has the player who lost it gain a card with the same cost. If a player trashes a card costing with Swindler, that player will gain a card costing exactly .
 Additional Rules
- “In play” -- Action cards and Treasure cards played face-up to a play area are in play until they are moved somewhere else—usually until they are discarded during a Clean-up phase. Only played cards are in play; set aside cards, trashed cards, cards in the Supply, and cards in hands, decks, and discard piles are not in play. Reaction abilities like Moat’s do not put those cards into play.
- Alchemy includes a Treasure card with rules: Philosopher's Stone. Philosopher's Stone is in the Supply if it is selected as one of the 10 Kingdom cards for the game; it is not part of the Basic Supply. It is just like a normal Treasure, but has special abilities. Philosopher's Stone is played during the Buy phase like a normal Treasure. It can be stolen by a Thief and so on.
- During the Buy phase, all Treasures are played before a player buys any cards, even if he has +Buys. A player may not play Treasures after Buying a card. This is important for Philosopher's Stone.
- When a player discards cards from play, he may discard them in any order. This normally does not matter, but is important for Alchemist and Herbalist.
 Flavor text
 Cards Gallery
 Basic Cards
 Kingdom Cards
 Alchemy Theme
Game designer Donald X. offered some insight into some themes of the set here.
- 12 Potion-related: Apprentice cares if it's in the cost and Herbalist can put a Potion on your deck for reuse, so, the whole set.
- 5 Actions theme: Transmute, Vineyard, Scrying Pool, University, Golem
- 10 Useful in multiples: Everything but Herbalist and Possession
 Impact of Alchemy
Due to the Actions theme of this set, most of these cards are excellent for engines. That said, the awkwardness of the Potion cost can discourage some players from pursuing strategies with Alchemy cards. Because of this awkwardness, players often choose Alchemy as their least favorite expansion, and Donald X. has stated that it's highly unlikely he'll revisit Potions as a mechanic, mainly for this very reason. However, the set does have supporters, and once actually in your deck, most of the cards are quite powerful and fun to play with.
- Vineyard - Not an engine part, but greatly rewards engine players, as engine decks tend to consist of mostly Actions
- Apothecary - Clears out Coppers and Potions from the top of your deck, making your engine more efficient
- Scrying Pool - The ultimate engine card, one of these can draw your entire deck in the right circumstances
- University - Good for quickly gaining engine pieces, though it becomes much less useful in the endgame, barring Vineyards
- Alchemist - A Laboratory that can be Schemed every turn - an engine unto itself
- Familiar - A cantrip curser
- Golem - A Throne Room variant that seeks out Actions to play in your deck
- Apprentice - An excellent trasher; trashing and non-terminal card draw are always good for an engine
The addition of the Potion cost has notable effects:
- Slightly longer games if all players go for Potion-based strategies
- Potion strategies can be easily thwarted by trashing Attacks or Embargo - if your Potion is trashed, or the Potion-cost card is Embargoed, you may have to change your strategy
- Interesting interactions with cost-caring cards
Possession is (if you take to be worth a little more than ) the most expensive Action card in the game, and the card with the longest FAQ to date. It gives an extra turn like Outpost, but the only limitation on the number of turns you get is how many times you can play Possession, rather than the artificial cap Outpost has. It features often in Combos, and is one of the more hated cards in the game, mostly due to the fact that it allows another player to use your deck.
 In other languages
- Chinese: 煉金術士 (pron. liànjīn shùshì, lit. alchemist)
- Czech: Alchymie
- Dutch: De Alchemisten (lit. the alchemists)
- Finnish: Alkemia
- French: Alchimie
- German: Die Alchemisten (lit. the alchemists)
- Italian: Alchimia
- Japanese: 錬金術 (pron. renkinjutsu)
- Spanish: Alquimia
 Secret History
 Recommended Sets of 10
|Forbidden Arts [+/-]|
|Council Room||Gardens||Laboratory||Thief||Throne Room|
|Potion Mixers [+/-]|
|Chemistry Lesson [+/-]|
|Secret Research [+/-]|
|Pools, Tools, and Fools [+/-]|
|Coppersmith||Ironworks||Nobles||Trading Post||Wishing Well|
 Alchemy & Hinterlands
|Schemes and Dreams [+/-]|
|Duchess||Fool's Gold||Ill-Gotten Gains||Jack of all Trades||Scheme|
|Wine Country [+/-]|
|Wandering Minstrel||Apprentice||Scrying Pool||Transmute||Vineyard|
 Alchemy & Adventures
|Haste Potion [+/-]|
|Magpie||Messenger||Port||Royal Carriage||Treasure Trove|
|Amulet||Bridge Troll||Caravan Guard||Peasant||Ratcatcher|
|City Quarter||Crown||Encampment||Enchantress||Farmers' Market|