Artisan is an Action card from the second edition of the Base set. It is a powerful gainer: it can gain anything costing up to and put it either on your deck, or into your hand if you top-deck a different card. It's terminal, though, so if you want to use those Actions right away it'll take some setting up.
 Official FAQ
- The card you gain comes from the Supply and is put into your hand.
- You cannot use to increase how expensive of a card you gain; it always costs from to .
- After gaining the card, you put a card from your hand onto your deck; that can be the card you just gained, or a different card.
 Other Rules clarifications
 English versions
|| Gain a card to your hand costing up to
. Put a card from your hand onto your deck. || Dominion 2nd Edition
|| October 2016
|| This card replaces as the Kingdom card in the Base set.
 Other language versions
|| Мастеровой (pron. mastyerovoy)
 Secret History
For a while this was, cost was better. I gave it + and still wasn't impressed. Meanwhile I had had a card in Empires
(gain a to your hand, put a card from your hand on your deck, each other player gets +1 ) that hadn't worked out but had seemed promising, and I tried versions of it with different penalties. Finally one day I realized that costing would be more fun than having a (second) penalty. Which means the set still has a card for , hooray.
, discard down to 2 cards in hand, gain a card costing up to . The idea was that the ability was strong enough that it was worth jumping through hoops for. But in games without combos, it wasn't very good, and when you did have the combos,