|Type(s)||Action - Reaction|
If you have 5 or fewer cards in hand (after drawing), +2 Actions.
When another player plays an Attack card, you may first reveal this from a hand of 5 or more cards, to draw 2 cards then discard 3.
Diplomat is an Action–Reaction card from the second edition of Intrigue. When you're Attacked, it gives you an opportunity to adjust the contents of your hand to possibly mitigate the attack. When you play it, it gives you +2 cards, plus a village effect if your handsize is small enough. Since Diplomat's Reaction effect itself reduces your handsize, its Reaction and on-play effects have some synergy.
 Official FAQ
- When playing this, you get +2 Cards, then count your cards in hand, and if you have 5 cards or fewer, you get +2 Actions.
- So, for example if you play this from a hand of 5 cards, you will put it into play, going down to 4 cards, then draw 2 cards, going up to 6 cards, and that is more than 5 cards so you would not get the +2 Actions.
- Diplomat can also be used when another player plays an Attack card, if you have at least 5 cards in hand.
- Before the Attack card does anything, you can reveal a Diplomat from your hand; if you do, you draw 2 cards, then discard 3 cards (which can include the Diplomat).
- If you still have at least 5 cards in hand after doing that (such as due to Council Rooms), you can reveal Diplomat again and do it again.
- You reveal Reactions one at a time; you cannot reveal two Diplomats simultaneously.
- You can reveal a Moat from your hand (to be unaffected by an Attack) either before or after revealing and resolving a Diplomat (even if the Moat was not in your hand until after resolving Diplomat).
 Other Rules clarifications
 In other languages
- German: Diplomatin (Note: explicitly feminine)
- Russian: Дипломат (pron. diplomat)
 Secret History