|Trash any number of cards from your hand. Gain a card with cost exactly equal to the total cost in coins of the trashed cards.|
 Official FAQ
- "Any number" includes zero.
- If you trash no cards, you have to gain a card costing if you can. This is different from how cards like Expand work if you do not trash anything, because Forge looks at the total, not at any one card's cost.
- If there is no card at the required cost, you do not gain a card.
- The card you gain comes from the Supply and is put into your discard pile.
- Dominion: Alchemy) are not added, and the card you gain cannot have a symbol in its cost. symbols (on cards from
 Other Rules clarifications
- Dominion: Empires) are not added, and the card you gain cannot have a symbol in its cost. costs (on cards from
 Strategy Article
There isn't a Forge strategy article.
Forge is an awesome trasher which can trash any number of cards at once. Unfortunately, it costs Chapel. It can be used for mid-to-lategame trashing to make an engine super-reliable - if it was sort of kicking into gear already, enough to get you . It is a good addition to an engine withstanding cursers or looters; and after the engine is built and the starting cards are trashed, Forge can cannibalize engine parts into Victory cards, like turning a Village and a Rabble into a Province., so you can't use it for early-game trashing like a
To make use of Forge best, you really need to have big hands, where you can match it up to a lot of junk to trash and to cards which add up to the right cost.
The options available to Forge depend heavily on what is on the board as well as what is in your deck. It can always be used to trash copper and curses, in addition to whatever other cards are being forged together, because these cards cost. Standard treasures, costing multiples of , always works with Forge, making the card a bit more powerful in Colony games. These treasures require cards of cost or to be forged into victory points.
The interaction of Forge with cost-reducers like Bridge and Highway is a messy one - if you play enough of them that everything costs , you can Forge a stack of Coppers into a Province. On the other hand, with only a couple of them in play you stand to lose value from each card you trash. With no reducers, two Silvers gives you a Gold easily enough. But after a single Highway, those Silvers cost each while the Gold is now , so you'll need to have a pair of them plus an Estate (now worth ) to get it; with another Highway, you'll need four Silvers to manage a single Gold!
Of course, you can also just repeatedly Forge the same two Fortresses into Provinces. So there's that.
- Platinum and Colony; with those in play, the time you first hit might still be considered the early or mid-game, so Forge can be used as a trasher for an engine. Forge can also turn three Silver, or a Gold and silver into platinum, enabling platinum gains without reaching .
- Tactician, which both gives you the coin to buy an early Forge and the handsize to use it well.
- Math. With a hand of cards of various costs, be prepared to figure out what possible options you have.
- Border Village, or other trash friendly cards that are overcosted for other reasons.
- Big Money
- Lack of nonterminal draw or engines
- Province games
- Situations where the math does not work. In particular, forge can only be reliably used to gain provinces or colonies in the endgame if your deck is rich in cards adding up to these cards' costs.
 Alternate versions
 In other languages
- Czech: Kování
- Dutch: Vervalsen (note: this connotes counterfeit as opposed to metalwork)
- Finnish: Ahjo
- French: Forge
- German: Kunstschmiede
- HiG error: moved "in coins" to gained card
- ASS error: omitted "in coins"
- Italian: Incastonare (lit. to mount gems)
- Japanese: 鍛造 (pron. tanzō)
- Polish: Płatnerz (lit. armorer)
- Russian: Ковка (pron. kovka, lit. forging)
- Spanish: Forja
 Secret History, then . The "in coins" clause was added late, to simplify Alchemy interactions.