|Once per game: Set aside a non-Victory Action card from the Supply costing up to. Move your Estate token to it. (Your Estates gain the abilities and types of that card.)|
 Official FAQ
- You can only buy this once per game.
- When you do, set aside a non-Victory Action card from the Supply that costs up to Estate token on it (the one depicting a house). , and put your
- This is not gaining a card, and does not count for things that care about gaining, such as Treasure Hunter; however at the end of the game, include the card in your deck when scoring.
- For the rest of the game, all of your Estates have the abilities and types of the set aside card. For example if you set aside a Port, then your Estates are Action - Victory cards, that can be played for +1 Card +2 Actions.
- This also changes Estates you buy or otherwise gain during the game; if you used Inheritance on a Port and then later bought an Estate, that Estate would come with a Port, just as buying a Port gains you a Port.
- This only affects your own Estates, not Estates of other players.
- An Estate is yours if either it started in your deck, or you gained it or bought it, or you were passed it with Masquerade (from Intrigue).
- An Estate stops being yours if you trash it, return it to the Supply, pass it with Masquerade, or are stopped from gaining it due to Possession (from Alchemy) or Trader (from Hinterlands).
- There are no limits on the set aside card other than being a non-Victory Action from the Supply costing up to Duration card, a Reaction card, and so on. ; it may be a
- It does not have to continue costing up to , it only has to cost up to when set aside.
- Your Estates are still worth 1 when scoring at the end of the game.
- Your Estates only copy abilities and types; they do not copy cost, name, or what pile they are from (thus they don't trigger tokens like +1 Action on the copied pile, and are not the Bane for Young Witch from Cornucopia even if the copied pile is the Bane).
- Starting Estates come from the Estates pile.
 Other rules clarifications
Most Inheritance interactions come down to timing and ownership. Buying a card makes it yours, thus Inherited when-buy effects trigger when you buy an Estate. However, when you choose what card to gain (other than when buying), the Estate does not belong to you until it is in your discard pile, which is when when-gain effects trigger. For this reason, any Estate gained by means other than buying will always go to your discard pile, even if the Inherited card has a different gain destination.
- If you Transmute an Inherited Estate, the Estate is in the trash and, thus, no longer yours when Transmute checks its type; therefore you would only get a Gold (for trashing a Victory card) and not a Duchy (since Estate cannot be an Action card in the trash). The only exception to this is an Inherited Fortress, which remains yours even after it is trashed.
- In contrast, if you Ironworks an Inherited Estate, you would get +1 Card and +1 Action.
- The fact that Estate inherits the abilities but not the name or cost of another card can lead to some surprising effects; as always, reading the text of the card carefully should resolve most confusions. Some examples:
- If Estate inherits Treasure Map, then when you play an Estate, you trash it and a Treasure Map from your hand (not an Estate from your hand), but you don't gain Gold because you didn't "trash two Treasure Maps".
- If Estate inherits Crossroads, then playing an Estate can't give you +3 Actions because it's not "the first time you played a Crossroads this turn". But if you play an Estate and then a Crossroads, you do get the +3 Actions from the Crossroads, since it is the first time you've played a Crossroads.
- If Estate inherits Rats, then when you play Estate, you can trash another Estate (but not a Rats), and you gain an actual Rats, and not another Estate.
- If Estate inherits Catacombs, then when you trash an Estate you must gain a card costing less than Estate, not just less than Catacombs.
- If an Estate comes into your possession via a means not explicitly described in the Official FAQ, such as being put in your hand after being trashed as a Fortress, it is still "yours", and still has its Inherited properties.
- Since Inherited Estates are not Actions until they are yours, they cannot be gained by abilities that specify gaining an Action, such as by University.
- Inherited Estates do count for Vineyard.
- Estates become yours upon the act of buying, therefore an Estate inherited as a Grand Market can be bought with Copper in play.
- Buying an Estate does trigger any on-buy effects of the set-aside card, e.g. if you inherited Noble Brigand, it triggers the "attack".
- The Estate pile is not yours, and thus not an Action pile; it cannot have Adventures tokens put on it, and cannot be emulated by Band of Misfits or Overlord.
- Your Estates only look at the text of the set aside card, and do not care if there are Adventures tokens on the pile it is from.
- Estates Inherited as Gathering cards put tokens on the pile they Inherited from, not the Estate pile.
- If you Inherit Fortress, you will not put Estates into your hand if you trash them with Salt the Earth, as Estates in the Supply are not yours.
- If you Inherit a card that changes its gain destination, like Nomad Camp, your Estates will go to the changed gain destination when you buy them, but not if you gain them through some other means, like Workshop.
- If an Estate changes ownership before it is played (say, through a combination of Throne Room, Mandarin, and Ambassador, or similar), it will be played as the card Inherited by whichever player currently owns it, or do nothing if the owner has not bought Inheritance.
Original article by faust
It is the craziest Event in Dominion so far (Sorry, Donate). It impacts the game like few other card-shaped things do, sometimes completely warping the way you approach building your deck. And, I think, it is still heavily underrated by a large part of the player base.
In this article, I try to highlight two different ways to incorporate Inheritance into your strategy, and also offer some thoughts on when going for Inheritance is the wrong move. This we will start with, because it is the easiest part.
 When to not go for Inheritance
If you see Inheritance in a kingdom, your first impulse should always be to ask yourself "Can I make Inheritance work here?" In most cases, you will want to use Inheritance, but there are boards on which you don't. Aside from obvious cases like, there is no possible Inheritance target, you should look for these conditions:
- Do you start with Estates?
- Is there a non-terminal action costing or less?
- Is there an easy way to buy/gain multiple Estates in a single turn?
If you answered at least two of these questions with "no", then you can probably ignore Inheritance. On the other hand, if you answered at least two of these with "yes", chances are you want to go for Inheritance in some way.
This evaluation is the easy part. But how to incorporate Inheritance into your strategy? There are two different strategy archetypes for this. I will outline them first and then talk a bit about when to go for which.
 The Inheritance Rush
In an Inheritance Rush, you first and most important goal is to buy Inheritance as soon as possible. After that, if your opponent also goes for Inheritance, your next move is usually to try and win the Estate split.
To reach your first goal, you must throw some of your Dominion wisdom out of the window: Trashing is not a priority. Instead, you should focus on getting . Copper-trashing can still be worth it if it also provides economy (like Moneylender/Counterfeit) or cycling (like Spice Merchant). But you want to hold on to your starting Estates, if you have those. This strategy wants to open with cards that can spike high price points (Baron excels at this; but even Coppersmith or Death Cart can be worth it). Events such as Save or Expedition are a big help too.
Also, remember that you will soon get three copies of some card at once; you may want to delay buying those. If your plan is to inherit Villages, don't buy one when you have only 2-3 terminals in your deck.
Once you managed to murder your parents and snatch the Inheritance, often you will want to get as many Estates as possible. They're good for your deck, and winning the split provides a comfortablelead over your opponent without slowing you down. At this point, you will need to add +buy and gainers to your deck, which you probably didn't want earlier since they don't help you reaching .
After the Estates have drained, you should have put together a decent deck. From then on it's just usual Dominion play until the end.
- Game 1 - Here I focus on economy early on (opening Moneylender/Silver) while my opponent chooses a more traditional trashing approach with Amulet. I never gain more Estates, but choosing the Inheritance Rush is still worth it.
- Game 2 - Here my opponent and I both choose to build similar engines, but due to using Inheritance, I get a sizable lead in and villages, promting my opponent to resign.
- Game 3 - again I forego trashing in favor of more sifting (Dungeon), and use a spiking card (Wine Merchant) to get to Inheritance quickly.
 Inheritance as support
Sometimes, the Rush is not the way to go, but Inheritance may still be useful. If Inheritance is only used as support, then you play the game much like a usual game, but at some point - maybe instead of your first Province - you buy Inheritance. Playing "normally" means you focus more strongly on trashing, maybe even trashing your starting Estates.
You will reachmuch later in such games, and then you have to ask yourself whether Inheriting is still better than greening. Often enough, it will be.
There is less to say about this way to play Inheritance, since it is less a strategy on its own and more fitting Inheritance into whatever strategy your were already playing.
- Game 4 - here, the presence of Sea Hag turns the game into a slog, which means getting to will be hard. You still want to get Inheritance since Ironmonger is such a juicy target.
- Game 5 - here, lack of amazing targets means that building the engine takes precedence over inheriting, which is why I open Loan. I still luck into an early thanks to Borrow.
- Game 6 - my opponent goes for the Rush, while I focus on getting to Champion first. That turns out to be important, as I can later destroy his deck with inherited Pages and Warriors.
 When to go for which strategy
Now that we saw both ways to play Inheritance, let's tackle the most important question: When do you want to do which? Obviously, that one is not easy to answer. The main reason not to go for a rush are attacks. Going for the Rush often means delaying the attack, which is particularly bad with junking. Also, most attacks will actively prevent the other player from getting to anytime soon.
The other thing to consider is: would you normally open with the card you want to inherit? If your inheritance target is best in the earlier game stages, then the Rush is better. If it is more of a mid- to late-game support card, then you can also delay Inheritance.
Finally, I would like to address some more specific issues that may come up when playing with Inheritance:
Selecting the right target
Usually, the best target for Inheritance on a given board is glaringly obvious, but there are cases when things are not that easy. Usually, some cantrip is the best option - remember, you will have lots of them in your deck. Select a target that will not only benefit you for the next shuffle, but for the rest of the game. Sometimes, you might not want the cantrip at all if it does too little for your deck.
- Game 7 - I go for Scheme while my opponent picks Tournament. The problem with Tournament is that it's not a true cantrip - if I have a Province in hand and you have a hand of all Tournaments, it's a dud. Tournament just gets too risky in the late game, and my Schemes are just as good at lining up Tournament with Province.
- Game 8 - here, I sheepishly go for Wandering Minstrel (it's a cantrip after all!) while my opponent chooses Envoy, and that's just so much better in this Big-Money-like game.
This is a tricky one. Cost reduction enables you to Inherit more valuable targets, but it also means that you have to delay your Inheritance more than you'd like. The main problem is that Cost-reducers don't actually help you to buy Inheritance, so you better have some plan to get there. If you do, it can work out beautifully. These games are usually not Rushes, but only use Inheritance as support.
Cost, type, triggers, tokens
It's important to remember where your inherited Estates are like the original cards - and where they differ.
- Cost: The Estates still cost only . Remember this when planning to inherit Band of Misfits or Border Village.
- Type: You will have lots of Action-Victory hybrids in your deck. This is great for cards that care about that stuff (Crossroads, the Iron family, even Scout) and changes the interaction with some attacks (Rabble gets hard-countered while Bureaucrat gets stronger).
- Triggers: The Estates become yours as soon a you buy them, and stay your until they are trashed. That means you can make use of any on-buy, on-gain of on-trash triggers. Ever wanted to trash a Hunting Grounds, gaining 3 more Hunting Grounds?
- Tokens: Tokens placed on the pile you inherited from are sadly not copied, and you cannot place tokens on the Estate pile.
 English versions
|Once per game: Set aside a non-Victory Action card from the Supply costing up to. Move your Estate token to it (your Estates gain the abilities and types of that card).||Adventures 1st Edition||April 2015|
|Once per game: Set aside a non-Victory Action card from the Supply costing up to. Move your Estate token to it. (Your Estates gain the abilities and types of that card.)||Adventures 2nd Edition||August 2017|
 Other language versions
|German||Erbschaft||Einmal pro Spiel: Lege eine beliebige Aktionskarte vom Vorrat, die keine Punktekarte ist und bis zukostet, zur Seite. Lege deinen Anwesen-Marker darauf. (Deine Anwesen übernehmen ab sofort Anweisungen und Typ dieser Karte.)|
|Japanese||相続 (pron. sōzoku)||ゲーム中に1度のみ:勝利点カード以外の、 コスト以下のアクションカード1枚を脇に置き、その上にあなたの屋敷トークンを移動する(あなたの屋敷は脇に置いたカードの能力と種類名を得る)。|
|Russian||Наследство (pron. naslyedstvo)|
 Secret History