From DominionStrategy Wiki
|Type(s)||Action - Duration|
|+1 Action, +, and if you gain a card costing exactly this turn, then at the start of your next turn, repeat this ability.|
Taskmaster is an Action-Duration card from Plunder. It will give you an extra Action next turn if you gain a card costing this turn, and it will remain in play giving you extra Actions for as many turns as you keep gaining 's.
 Official FAQ
- Taskmaster can end up making +1 Action and + . turn after turn, as long as you keep gaining at least one card costing
- It only matters what the card cost when you gained it, not what it costs at other times.
- Taskmaster does not count cards gained before playing it.
 Other rules clarifications
- Repeating Taskmaster's ability doesn't count as playing it again, which means you can't use a Way, and it won't count for Conspirator).
- At the start of your turn, you can first repeat this ability, then gain a Duchy with Importer, and that will let the Taskmaster repeat itself on your next turn.
- This checks the cost that a card had at the moment you gained it. So if you gain a Destrier that costs , that won't count for Taskmaster (even though its own gain means it now costs ). But if you gain a Destrier that costs (meaning it now costs ), that lets Taskmaster repeat itself.
- If gaining a Haggler and buy a card, and then gain a Taskmaster with Haggler's ability and play the Taskmaster with Innovation), that will let the Taskmaster repeat itself on your next turn. -cost card causes you to play a Taskmaster (e.g. you play
- If you haven't gained a Improve. But if you gain a -cost card afterwards (with a 2nd Improve), the Taskmaster will still repeat itself on your next turn (and potentially for multiple turns); you will have to remember this.  -cost card this turn, Taskmaster can be trashed with
 Synergies and Combos
 English versions
|+1 Action, + and if you gain a card costing exactly , this turn, then at the start of your next turn, repeat this ability.||Plunder||December 2022|
 Other language versions
|German||Vorarbeiter||+1 Aktion, + und, wenn du in diesem Zug eine Karte nimmst, die genau kostet, wiederhole diese Fähigkeit zu Beginn deines nächsten Zuges.|
Taskmaster is a tricky village. It can be there for you turn after turn, if you keep working on those 's.
 Secret History
The first version made +, and then +1 Action each turn until you gained an Action. After that I jumped to the final card. The wording got tweaked repeatedly to try to be clear and avoid bad interactions, but it stayed basically the same.
A lot of work went into that wording, trying to find something that handled all the cases that needed handling. "Play this again" was tried and failed; consider Throning it.