Blue dog rule

From DominionStrategy Wiki
(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 3: Line 3:
 
The "'''blue dog rule'''" is a ruling by [[Donald X]] on what to do when an ability has an effect based on a card it's gaining, but the card to-be-gained is never actually gained for one reason or another.  In this case, the ability has no effect, since it did not gain a card.
 
The "'''blue dog rule'''" is a ruling by [[Donald X]] on what to do when an ability has an effect based on a card it's gaining, but the card to-be-gained is never actually gained for one reason or another.  In this case, the ability has no effect, since it did not gain a card.
  
The archetypal example of this rule is the interaction between {{Card|Ironworks}} and {{Card|Trader}}.  If you would gain a card with Ironworks, and then reveal Trader to gain a {{Card|Silver}} instead, you never actually gained anything with Ironworks, so Ironworks fails to give a bonus effect based on the type of the card gained.
+
The archetypal example of this rule is the interaction between {{Card|Ironworks}} and {{Card|Trader}}.  If you would gain a card with Ironworks, and then reveal Trader to gain a {{Card|Silver}} instead, you never actually gained anything with Ironworks, so Ironworks fails to give a bonus effect based on the type of the card gained.  Ironically, Ironworks has since been reworded to avoid this specific confusion, and is thus no longer an example of the ruling.
  
 
It is called the "blue dog" rule because when [[Hinterlands]] was first released, Donald X posted a bizarre anecdote about walking a blue dog to try to explain the interaction.
 
It is called the "blue dog" rule because when [[Hinterlands]] was first released, Donald X posted a bizarre anecdote about walking a blue dog to try to explain the interaction.
Line 15: Line 15:
 
This applies to any cards with an "If you do" or similar clause preceding an effect dependent on a card gain (such as {{Event|Ritual}}), and it's usually quite clear that nothing happens, because of this phrasing.  However, a few cards have no such phrasing, leading to potential ambiguity; this ruling was given specifically for these kinds of cards:
 
This applies to any cards with an "If you do" or similar clause preceding an effect dependent on a card gain (such as {{Event|Ritual}}), and it's usually quite clear that nothing happens, because of this phrasing.  However, a few cards have no such phrasing, leading to potential ambiguity; this ruling was given specifically for these kinds of cards:
 
* {{Card|Replace}}
 
* {{Card|Replace}}
* {{Card|Ironworks}}
 
 
* {{Card|Horn of Plenty}}
 
* {{Card|Horn of Plenty}}
 
* {{Card|Messenger}}
 
* {{Card|Messenger}}

Revision as of 13:17, 17 January 2020

Trader, the card that most often invokes this rule.

The "blue dog rule" is a ruling by Donald X on what to do when an ability has an effect based on a card it's gaining, but the card to-be-gained is never actually gained for one reason or another. In this case, the ability has no effect, since it did not gain a card.

The archetypal example of this rule is the interaction between IronworksIronworks.jpg and TraderTrader.jpg. If you would gain a card with Ironworks, and then reveal Trader to gain a SilverSilver.jpg instead, you never actually gained anything with Ironworks, so Ironworks fails to give a bonus effect based on the type of the card gained. Ironically, Ironworks has since been reworded to avoid this specific confusion, and is thus no longer an example of the ruling.

It is called the "blue dog" rule because when Hinterlands was first released, Donald X posted a bizarre anecdote about walking a blue dog to try to explain the interaction.

Contents

List of cards that can invoke the Blue dog rule

Gaining-hinderers

If a chosen Supply pile is empty, this also hinders gaining.

Gain-effect cards

This applies to any cards with an "If you do" or similar clause preceding an effect dependent on a card gain (such as RitualRitual.jpg), and it's usually quite clear that nothing happens, because of this phrasing. However, a few cards have no such phrasing, leading to potential ambiguity; this ruling was given specifically for these kinds of cards:

Trivia

Donald X.'s original quote:

If I say, "feed the blue dog, then take it for a walk," "it" refers to the blue dog, including its blueness, but "it" does not mean "the dog you fed." We are talking about a blue dog, and I am giving you two commands concerning it. Feed it, walk it.
—Donald X., Ironworks and Trader


While the quote provided the name for the ruling, afterward Donald X. changed his position on how the interaction should work to how it stands today.


Deck archetypes Big MoneyComboEngineRushSlog
Strategic concepts CollisionCounterCyclingDeadDuchy dancingEndgameGreeningMegaturnMirrorOpeningOpportunity costPenultimate Province RulePayloadPinPiledrivingReshuffleSilver testStop cardSplit advantageStrictly betterSynergyTerminalityThree-pile endingTurn advantageVictory pointVillage idiot
Rules Blue dog ruleCostDeckGameplayMaterialsNo Visiting ruleStop-Moving rule (previously Lose Track rule) • Supply (Kingdom) • Triggered effectsTurn
Personal tools
Namespaces

Variants
Views
Actions
Navigation
Toolbox