Coin of the Realm
|Coin of the Realm|
|Type(s)||Treasure - Reserve|
When you play this, put it on your Tavern mat.
Directly after resolving an Action, you may call this, for +2 Actions.
Coin of the Realm is a Treasure-Reserve from Adventures. While only a Copper on play, it can be called after resolving an Action to give +2 Actions, making it a village. Normally this means having to wait until the turn after playing it to call it, but if played by Black Market or Storyteller, it can be used as a village on that same turn.
- This is a Treasure worth .
- You play it in your Buy phase, like other Treasures.
- When you play it, it goes on your Tavern mat. It produces that turn but is no longer in play. It stays on the mat until you call it.
- You can call it after resolving playing an Action card, for +2 Actions (which will let you play further Action cards).
- Move the Coin of the Realm into play when you call it, but it does not give you that turn, it just gives +2 Actions.
- It is discarded that turn with your other cards in play.
Other Rules clarifications
- Coin of the Realm can be called on a Crown played during your Buy phase, though this is usually not meaningful.
It's a Treasure! It's a Village! It's Coin of the Realm!
This card is definitely a planning-ahead Village - if you've overloaded on terminals and suddenly think "crap, I need a Village", you'd be better off buying a Port. This is certainly not the strongest card, and can be rather slow (like most Reserves), but can be quite powerful if used correctly.
What does it do?
It's a Copper that can be called later for +2 Actions. It cannot (usually) be called on the same turn it's played, so it kind of feels like a Duration card, something like a lopsided Fishing Village. Unlike a Duration, though, it waits on the Tavern mat until you really need it. It's also one of the cheapest villages, sharing a cost with Hamlet; the only cheaper village is Necropolis, and that's not exactly a card you can spam.
How do I use it?
In general, Coin of the Realm's Reserve nature means that you'll never "waste" it as a Village - playing Village, then Smithy, only to draw a bunch of Treasures and Victory cards is not exactly optimal. That Village has now be used for the shuffle, and so you've in a sense lost your ability to support one of the terminals in your deck until you reshuffle, which is why it can often be good to get a couple more Villages than your deck actually needs. If that were a Coin of the Realm instead, you'd be able to hold onto it until you actually had a collision in your hand. With CotR on your Tavern mat, you can play terminal draw with impunity, knowing you can support up to two more Actions if you draw any, and still being perfectly happy if you don't. Without terminal draw, you can almost overload on terminals, since a single CotR can handle three terminals colliding in your hand - in this case, again, unlike with normal Villages, there's no chance of "wasting" CotR if you only draw one terminal.
To get into more detail, let's look at two cases: boards without other villages, and boards with them.
Coin of the Realm as the only village
Here, CotR should be one of your earliest purchases. Be willing to spend Silver, unless you're aiming for terminals instead of 's. You want CotRs on your Tavern mat as soon as possible, so that you can start calling them as soon as you start getting terminal collisions.on it, though perhaps not at the expense of an opening
It's at this point that we need to address CotR's major advantage, and major disadvantage:
Good: CotR gives 1 Action more than most other Villages, since it doesn't require an Action to get its effect. Therefore two CotRs can support 5 terminals, whereas 2 Villages can only support 3.
Bad: Due to its slowness, in order to get any sort of reliability out of CotR, you need to stagger them, like Durations, which means you need to buy twice as many of them. So, to support 5 terminals, you really should be buying 4 (which is how many Villages you'd be buying anyway).
So for an engine that draws itself every turn, you'll need to buy just as many CotRs as you'd buy Villages, so that advantage is nixed, but there are still two things in the card's favor: 1) You don't need to play next turn's CotR's until the end of this turn, and 2) It's still cheaper than most other Villages. For a terminal-heavy deck that won't necessarily draw itself every turn, perhaps due to lack of trashing, you might not need to get as many CotRs; collision will happen less often, and you'll usually be able to reserve CotR before another one happens.
That first point is important, so let me reiterate - since CotRs are played at the end of your turn, and then hang out on your mat for your next turn, there's no uncertainty where you hope you draw your Village and terminal draw together; you're sure that you'll be able to play whatever terminals come up in your hand.
All in all, is an engine possible with CotR as the only Village? Yes, but it can be a little finicky at times.
Coin of the Realm with other Villages
In these cases, CotR is often ignorable. Getting Cartographer: not something that's really going to be essential to your strategy, but it certainly has a net positive effect on your deck if you happen to pick one up. It can also add some reliability to your deck - as mentioned before, CotR doesn't have to worry about being drawn with your terminal draw card, as it's already there, on your mat, waiting to be called. In these cases, picking up one or two CotRs can help ensure that your engine fires every turn.is not usually a happy turn, and you'd often rather pick up a drawing Action Village. In these cases, if you get CotR at all, it will be as a supplement, something you pick up with an extra buy to help smooth out your engine. When paired with other Villages, CotR kind of feels like
What does it work well with?
CotR likes +Buy. It's a perfect "sure, why not" purchase when you have Pearl Diver. The best version of this is terminal draw +Buy - Council Room, Margrave, Ranger - that way your CotRs can help support their play, and then you can pick up another draw card along with another CotR, or whatever other payload you feel like snagging.left to spend, and certainly helps your deck more than
Of course, we can't not mention the two cards that play Treasures during your Action phase - Black Market and Storyteller. While I wouldn't go so far as to call either of these a "combo" with CotR, the synergy is certainly strong here. Being able to play and call CotR on the same turn completely gets rid of the slowness disadvantage, and almost doubles the terminal capacity of your deck.
A solid card, both in its role and its price point, though it shines more if it doesn't have any Village competition.
Digital version for Dominion Online
In other languages
- Dutch: Koninklijke munt (lit. royal coin)
- Finnish: Kuninkaallinen raha (lit. royal coin)
- French: Monnaie Royale (lit. royal coin)
- German: Königliche Münzen (lit. royal coins)
- Japanese: 法貨 (pron. hōka)
- Polish: Moneta obiegowa (note: as referred to in Polish Empires rulebook)
Previewand goes on your mat. On some future turn, you call it to get to play more Actions. So it's a village that you can't (normally) use the turn you play it. And it's a village that just waits until you need it. You draw your two