Editing Market Square

Jump to: navigation, search

Warning: You are not logged in.

Your IP address will be recorded in this page's edit history.
The edit can be undone. Please check the comparison below to verify that this is what you want to do, and then save the changes below to finish undoing the edit.
Latest revision Your text
Line 1: Line 1:
 +
 
{{Infobox Card
 
{{Infobox Card
 
  |name = Market Square
 
  |name = Market Square
|cost = 3
 
 
  |type1 = Action
 
  |type1 = Action
 
  |type2 = Reaction
 
  |type2 = Reaction
 
  |illustrator = Lorraine Schleter  
 
  |illustrator = Lorraine Schleter  
  |text = '''+1 Card<br>+1 Action<br>+1 Buy'''
+
  |text = +1 Card<br />+1 Action<br />+1 Buy
  |text2 = When one of your cards is trashed, you may discard this from your hand to gain a Gold.
+
  |text2 = When one of your cards is trashed, you may discard this from your hand. If you do, gain a Gold.
 
}}
 
}}
  
Line 14: Line 14:
 
=== Official FAQ ===
 
=== Official FAQ ===
 
* When you play this, you draw a card and get +1 Action and +1 Buy.  
 
* When you play this, you draw a card and get +1 Action and +1 Buy.  
* When one of your cards is trashed, you may discard Market Square from your hand.  
+
* When one of your cards is trashed, you may discard Market Square from your hand. If you do, you gain a Gold.
* If you do, you gain a Gold.  
+
* The Gold comes from the Supply and is put into your discard pile.  
* If there is no Gold left in the [[Supply]], you do not gain one.  
+
* If there is no Gold left in the Supply, you do not gain one. You may discard multiple Market Squares when a single card of yours is trashed.
* You may discard multiple Market Squares when a single card of yours is trashed.
+
 
+
 
=== Other Rules clarifications ===
 
=== Other Rules clarifications ===
* Market Square doesn't have to have been in your hand when you trash a card; you could trash {{Card|Cultist}}, drawing one or more Market Squares, and still discard them.  This is allowed since your opponents aren't privy to what's in your hand.
+
You can discard Market Square before or after other when-trashed triggers. For example, if you trash a {{Card|Cultist}} while holding a Market Square in hand, two things happen - you can discard the Market Square to gain a {{Card|Gold}}, and you can draw 3 cards due to Cultist's when-trashed ability. You can do these in any order - you can first draw 3 cards and then discard one or more Market Squares to gain Gold (even ones that you just drew), or you can first discard a Market Square to gain a Gold, and then draw 3 cards from trashing the Cultist. You can even do both - discard a Market Square to gain a Gold, draw 3 cards for trashing the Cultist, and then discard another Market Square from your hand! (Yes, it is technically possible to discard the same Market Square twice, if you drew it again!)
* Market Square has the same timing as "when you trash this" effects on other cards, such as Cultist, and you choose the order they happen in.
+
* Market Square cannot be discarded if you trash a card you don't own, such as with {{Card|Lurker}}.
+
 
+
 
== Strategy Article ==
 
== Strategy Article ==
There is no strategy article yet for Market Square. Feel free to add your thoughts!
+
[[Dark Ages]] hasn't been around long, and there isn't a community consensus on how to play Market Square. If you know of good Market Square strategies or combos, please share them on the [http://forum.dominionstrategy.com forums]!  
  
 
An obvious use case for Market Square is as a cheap +Buy in an [[engine]]. Sometimes you'll buy a {{Card|Woodcutter}} or {{Card|Herbalist}} for the +Buy, and Market Square is probably better - a lot of the time you'd rather have your +Buy be a [[cantrip]] that doesn't get in the way rather than a terminal.
 
An obvious use case for Market Square is as a cheap +Buy in an [[engine]]. Sometimes you'll buy a {{Card|Woodcutter}} or {{Card|Herbalist}} for the +Buy, and Market Square is probably better - a lot of the time you'd rather have your +Buy be a [[cantrip]] that doesn't get in the way rather than a terminal.
Line 37: Line 32:
 
Market Square has great synergy with a lot of trashers. Since it is a cantrip, you can freely load up on Market Squares, to match up with your smaller number of trashers. - {{Card|Moneylender}}, {{Card|Forager}}, {{Card|Mine}}, {{Card|Upgrade}}, {{Card|Remodel}}, {{Card|Junk Dealer}}, all can be used to activate Market Square to good effect.  
 
Market Square has great synergy with a lot of trashers. Since it is a cantrip, you can freely load up on Market Squares, to match up with your smaller number of trashers. - {{Card|Moneylender}}, {{Card|Forager}}, {{Card|Mine}}, {{Card|Upgrade}}, {{Card|Remodel}}, {{Card|Junk Dealer}}, all can be used to activate Market Square to good effect.  
 
=== Synergies/Combos ===
 
=== Synergies/Combos ===
* early-game [[trasher|trashers]] like {{Card|Chapel}}, {{Card|Steward}}
+
* early-game [[trasher]]s like {{Card|Chapel}}, {{Card|Steward}}
 
* {{Card|Hovel}}
 
* {{Card|Hovel}}
 
* {{Card|Masquerade}}
 
* {{Card|Masquerade}}
 
* {{Card|Bishop}}
 
* {{Card|Bishop}}
* {{Event|Donate}}
 
 
* {{Card|Remodel}} can trash cards to activate Market Square, and can then turn the {{Card|Gold|Golds}} into {{Card|Province|Provinces}}.  
 
* {{Card|Remodel}} can trash cards to activate Market Square, and can then turn the {{Card|Gold|Golds}} into {{Card|Province|Provinces}}.  
* [[Combo: Hermit and Market Square]]
 
* [[Combo: Donate and Market Square]]
 
 
* [[Combo: Highway and Market]]
 
* [[Combo: Highway and Market]]
 
* {{Card|Apprentice}} or {{Card|Research}}
 
* {{Card|Apprentice}} or {{Card|Research}}
Line 51: Line 43:
 
* {{Card|Market}}, {{Card|Festival}}, or other sources of +Buy
 
* {{Card|Market}}, {{Card|Festival}}, or other sources of +Buy
 
* Lack of trashing
 
* Lack of trashing
 
== Versions ==
 
===English versions===
 
{| class="wikitable" style="text-align:center;"
 
! Print !! Digital !! Text !! Release !! Date
 
|-
 
| {{CardVersionImage|Market SquareOld|Market Square}} || {{CardVersionImage|Market SquareDigitalOld|Market Square from Goko/Making Fun}} || '''+1 Card'''. '''+1 Action'''. '''+1 Buy'''.<br>When one of your cards is trashed, you may discard this from your hand. If you do, gain a Gold. || Dark Ages 1st Edition || August 2012
 
|-
 
| {{CardVersionImage|Market Square|Market Square}} || {{CardVersionImage|Market SquareDigital|Market Square from Shuffle iT}} || '''+1 Card'''. '''+1 Action'''. '''+1 Buy'''.<br>When one of your cards is trashed, you may discard this from your hand to gain a Gold. || Dark Ages [[Second Edition|2nd Edition]] || September 2017
 
|}
 
 
===Other language versions===
 
{| class="wikitable" style="text-align:center;"
 
! Language !! Name !! Print !! Digital !! Text !! Notes
 
|-
 
!Czech
 
| Náměstí (lit. ''square'') || {{CardLangVersionImage|Czech}} || || ||
 
|-
 
!Dutch
 
| Marktplein (lit. ''market square'') || || || ||
 
|-
 
!Finnish
 
| Kauppatori (lit. ''marketplace'') || || || ||
 
|-
 
!French
 
| Place du marché || || || ||
 
|-
 
!German
 
| Marktplatz ||{{CardLangVersionImage|German}}|| || '''+1 Karte<br>+1 Aktion<br>+1 Kauf'''<br>Wenn du eine Karte entsorgst, darfst<br>du diesen Marktplatz aus deiner<br>Hand ablegen. Wenn du das machst:<br>Nimm dir ein Gold. ||
 
|-
 
!Japanese
 
| 青空市場 (pron. ''aozoraichiba'', lit. ''open-air market'') || || || '''+1 カードを引く'''。 '''+1 アクション'''。 '''+1 購入'''。 あなたのカード1枚が廃棄されるとき、これを手札から捨て札にしてもよい。 捨て札にした場合、金貨1枚を獲得する。 ||
 
|-
 
!Korean
 
| 시장 광장 (pron. ''sijang gwangjang'') || || || ||
 
|-
 
!Polish
 
| Plac targowy || || || || Although Polish version is not released, this card is referred to in the Polish version of ''[[Empires]]'' rulebook
 
|-
 
!Russian
 
| Рыночная Площадь (pron. ''rynochnaya ploshshad''') || || || ||
 
|-
 
!Spanish
 
| Plaza del Mercado || || || ||
 
|}
 
  
 
== Trivia ==
 
== Trivia ==
[[Image:Market_SquareArt.jpg|thumb|right|354px|Official card art.]]
+
=== In other languages ===
 +
* French: Place du marché
 +
* German: Marktplatz
 +
* Spanish: Plaza del Mercado
  
 
=== Secret History ===
 
=== Secret History ===

Please note that all contributions to DominionStrategy Wiki are considered to be released under the Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike (see DominionStrategy Wiki:Copyrights for details). If you do not want your writing to be edited mercilessly and redistributed at will, then do not submit it here.
You are also promising us that you wrote this yourself, or copied it from a public domain or similar free resource. Do not submit copyrighted work without permission!

Cancel | Editing help (opens in new window)
Personal tools
Namespaces

Variants
Views
Actions
Navigation
Toolbox