|Once per turn: If the previous turn wasn't yours, take another turn after this one, in which you can't buy cards.|
- You can only buy this once per turn.
- When you do, if the previous turn was not yours - if it was another player's turn before this turn - you take another turn after this turn ends.
- The extra turn is completely normal except that you cannot buy cards during it.
- You can still buy Events, and play cards, and gain cards in ways other than buying them (such as gaining a Silver from Amulet), and exchange Travellers.
- Buying Mission during a turn granted by Mission will not give you another turn, because the previous turn was yours.
Other rules clarifications
- If you buy a Mission and play an Outpost on the same turn, both extra turn effects try to happen at the same time. If you resolve Mission's first, your Mission turn will start with 3 cards, and you won't get an Outpost turn (and Outpost stays in play until the Clean-up phase of the player to your left). If you resolve Outpost first, you get the normal 3-card Outpost turn, then your Mission turn, giving you three turns in a row.
- Buying Mission does nothing if you were Possessed on your previous turn.
- If the previous player played multiple Possessions, and tells you to buy a Mission on your first Possession turn, you get to decide whether to take the Mission turn first, or one of the other Possession turns; Possession does not grant control between turns, making the choice your decision.
There is no strategy article for Mission yet, as Adventures is still quite new, and the community is still discussing how best to use it. If you have ideas, please share them on the forum!
In order to be worth buying, you need to have cards in your deck that are still worth playing during a Mission turn. If all your deck can do is buy cards, Mission is probably not worth it. However, if you have stackable Attacks (like Torturer), or want to finish trashing, or have a remodeler or a gainer, it might be a good buy. Mission turns can also get Durations in play and Reserves on your mat (or off of it, in the case of Wine Merchant), and can be used to stockpile Coin tokens. Mission also plays nicely with other Events, which are exempt from its prohibition on buying, though some Events will be more useful than others. Mission is generally very relevant to a lot of different engines, and fortunately it is often pretty easy to estimate what buying a mission will get you and compare it to your other options; for example, if you think you will be able to play at least one Ironworks next turn while accomplishing something else, then mission is often a gimme.
- Engines in general
- Raid can gain silvers for Big Money
Digital version for Dominion Online
In other languages
- Dutch: Missie
- Finnish: Tehtävä
- French: Mission
- German: Mission
- Japanese: 使節団 (pron. shisetsu-dan)