Overpay

From DominionStrategy Wiki
(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Official Rules)
Line 12: Line 12:
 
* The coins used to overpay are gone after spending them to overpay; they cannot be then used to buy something else.
 
* The coins used to overpay are gone after spending them to overpay; they cannot be then used to buy something else.
 
* Overpaying happens when a card is paid for, which is before it is gained. Players can only overpay for a card when buying it, not when gaining it some other way. The "+" is just a reminder; a card with "+" in the cost still has its normal cost for all purposes. For example if a player plays {{Card|Haggler}} (from [[Hinterlands|Dominion: Hinterlands]]), then buys a Masterpiece, overpaying, Haggler will still gain her a card costing less than {{Cost|3}}, the cost of Masterpiece. Similarly, Masterpiece could be the [[Bane]] card for {{Card|Young Witch}} (from [[Cornucopia|Dominion: Cornucopia]]), since it costs {{Cost|3}}.  
 
* Overpaying happens when a card is paid for, which is before it is gained. Players can only overpay for a card when buying it, not when gaining it some other way. The "+" is just a reminder; a card with "+" in the cost still has its normal cost for all purposes. For example if a player plays {{Card|Haggler}} (from [[Hinterlands|Dominion: Hinterlands]]), then buys a Masterpiece, overpaying, Haggler will still gain her a card costing less than {{Cost|3}}, the cost of Masterpiece. Similarly, Masterpiece could be the [[Bane]] card for {{Card|Young Witch}} (from [[Cornucopia|Dominion: Cornucopia]]), since it costs {{Cost|3}}.  
* Reducing the costs of cards via cards like {{Card|Bridge}} (from [[Intrigue|Dominion: Intrigue]]) or {{Card|Highway}} (from Dominion: Hinterlands) does not interact with
+
* Reducing the costs of cards via cards like {{Card|Bridge}} (from [[Intrigue|Dominion: Intrigue]]) or {{Card|Highway}} (from Dominion: Hinterlands) does not interact with overpay; for example, if you play five Bridges and have {{Cost|5}} total to spend, Herald would cost {{Cost|0}}, but if you bought one the most you could overpay for it would still be {{Cost|5}}.
overpay; for example, if you play five Bridges and have {{Cost|5}} total to spend, Herald would cost {{Cost|0}}, but if you bought one the most you could overpay for it would still be {{Cost|5}}.
+
  
 
{{Navbox card categories}}
 
{{Navbox card categories}}

Revision as of 01:51, 17 June 2013

Overpaying is a mechanic in the Guilds expansion. Some cards allow to spend more coins than their cost when buying them, for additional effects. Such cards have a "+" included in their cost. Cards having an overpay effect are:

  • StonemasonStonemason.jpg, which allows you to gain 2 Actions each costing the amount you overpaid.
  • DoctorDoctor.jpg, which allows you for each $1 you overpaid to look at the top card of your deck; and you can choose to trash it, discard it, or put it back.
  • MasterpieceMasterpiece.jpg, which allows you to gain a silver for each $1 you overpaid.
  • HeraldHerald.jpg, which allows you for each $1 you overpaid to look through your discard pile and put a card from it on top of your deck.

Official Rules

  • Some cards in Dominion: Guilds can be "overpaid" for. The costs for these cards have a "+" next to the coin symbol.
  • A player may pay any additional amount for such a card, and then gets an effect based on how much extra was paid. PotionPotion.jpgs (from Dominion: Alchemy) may be used in overpaid amounts if desired, although this is not always meaningful.
  • A player may choose not to overpay, even if she has extra coins, but cannot choose to overpay ; to overpay, a player has to actually pay more than the cost.
  • The coins used to overpay are gone after spending them to overpay; they cannot be then used to buy something else.
  • Overpaying happens when a card is paid for, which is before it is gained. Players can only overpay for a card when buying it, not when gaining it some other way. The "+" is just a reminder; a card with "+" in the cost still has its normal cost for all purposes. For example if a player plays HagglerHaggler.jpg (from Dominion: Hinterlands), then buys a Masterpiece, overpaying, Haggler will still gain her a card costing less than $3, the cost of Masterpiece. Similarly, Masterpiece could be the Bane card for Young WitchYoung Witch.jpg (from Dominion: Cornucopia), since it costs $3.
  • Reducing the costs of cards via cards like BridgeBridge.jpg (from Dominion: Intrigue) or HighwayHighway.jpg (from Dominion: Hinterlands) does not interact with overpay; for example, if you play five Bridges and have $5 total to spend, Herald would cost $0, but if you bought one the most you could overpay for it would still be $5.


Attacks CurserDeck inspection attackDeck order attackHandsize attackJunking attackTrashing attackTurn-worsening attack
Buy/Money +BuyCost-reducerDisappearing moneyOverpayPeddler variantTerminal silverVirtual coinVirtual +Buy
Cycling Deck discarderDeck inspectorDiggingDiscard for benefitSifter
Terminality CantripNon-terminalNon-terminal drawSoft terminalTerminalTerminal drawThrone Room variantVillage
Other Alt-VPBasic cardsDuration drawEmulatorGainerLuck-basedNon-Attack interactionOne-shotSplit pileTop deckerTrasherVanilla
Personal tools
Namespaces

Variants
Views
Actions
Navigation
Toolbox