(→Synergies/Combos: Horse and Cavalry)
(→top: added improve template)
|Line 1:||Line 1:|
|name = Procession
|name = Procession
Latest revision as of 17:33, 4 March 2021
|This page is awaiting large-scale edits by the community to meet quality and format standards. The information on this page may be outdated. Join the #wiki-meta channel on the Dominion Discord server to participate.|
|You may play a non-Duration Action card from your hand twice. Trash it. Gain an Action card costing exactlymore than it.|
Procession is an Action card from Dark Ages. It acts a bit like a combination of Throne Room and Upgrade, allowing you to play another Action twice and then trash it to gain a more expensive Action. This effect can be very powerful, improving your deck at the same time as granting you one last double-shot out of the Actions you trash to do so, but it's also quite risky since you very often don't want to use it on (and thus trash) your strongest Actions, the most obvious targets for Throne Room variants.
 Official FAQ
- Playing an Action card from your hand is optional.
- If you do play one, you then play it a second time, then trash it, then gain an Action card costing exactly more than it (even if somehow you failed to trash it).
- Gaining a card is not optional once you choose to play an Action card, but will fail to happen if no card in the Supply costs the exact amount needed.
- If something happens due to trashing the card - for example drawing three cards due to trashing a Cultist - that will resolve before you gain a card.
- This does not use up any extra Actions you were allowed to play due to cards like Fortress - Procession itself uses up one Action and that is it.
- You cannot play any other cards in between resolving the Procession-ed Action card multiple times, unless that Action card specifically tells you to (such as Procession itself does).
- If you Procession a Procession, you will play one Action twice, trash it, gain an Action card costing more, then play another Action twice, trash it, gain an Action card costing more, then trash the Procession and gain an Action costing more than it.
- If you Procession a card that gives you +1 Action, such as Vagrant, you will end up with two Actions to use afterwards, rather than the one you would have left if you just played two Vagrants.
- If you use Procession on a Duration card†, Procession will be discarded in the same turn's Clean-up, since the Duration card will no longer be in play.
† With the 2019 Version, you can no longer play Duration cards with Procession to avoid issues with tracking the Duration effect.
 Other Rules clarifications
- Since Processions are always discarded the turn they multiply a Duration, this can lead to some problems with tracking, particularly with permanent Durations, such as Hireling.
- If you play Procession on an Island, the Island is set aside on its mat and is not trashed by Procession. The same applies to Reserve cards, which move themselves to the Tavern mat. You still gain a more expensive card, though.
- If you play Procession on a Lighthouse, the Lighthouse does not offer you protection from attacks.
 Strategy Article
Original article by DG, incorporating analysis from jomini
This is the devil’s card. You will see someone play it wonderfully and empty the Provinces in 10 turns. You’ll try it out the next game for yourself and it’ll make a complete mess of your deck. I’ll try to explain how that happens.
 The Plus Side
Procession is great because you can play your wonderful Action card twice and then trash it to get an even more wonderful Action card to replace it. If you can draw through your deck you might be able to play the gained card the same turn as well. You get the benefits of a Throne Room and the benefits of an Upgrade put together. Your deck can power through with Action cards and accelerate through higher cost action cards. Wonderful indeed.
 The Minus Side
So why is it so bad? How about a hand of (Pearl Diver, Copper, Copper, Grand Market, Procession) where you’ll probably play Procession on the Pearl Diver and trash it for something like a Great Hall because you don't want to lose your Grand Market. Firstly, you’re not getting the double play from the Grand Market and you’re probably wasting time with the Pearl Diver and Great Hall. Secondly, you’re going to get more bad draws with the Procession even than you would with a Throne Room since there are some Actions in your deck that you don’t want to Process. Let’s remember at this point that Thrones often do draw badly, so get worried about a card that is even more reliant on the draw.
That’s not the end of the problems with Procession. You need a sequence of Action cards in the supply at different costs to give yourself card gains. Unfortunately, you actually need a good sequence of Action cards in the supply at different costs since you always want to be getting better cards from the trashing rather than just expensive cards. If the Action cards are really good though you might also find that your opponents empty a key pile and leave you with nothing useful to gain for Processing the Actions already in your deck. This is going to be more of a problem with more players.
Procession can also destroy the balance of your deck if you are repeatedly trashing one card from a combination without taking a similar replacement. A Village/Smithy deck might be working nicely until Procession turns it into a Smithy/Smithy deck. You can buy more Villages but wouldn’t you rather be buying Provinces? Some +Buy or other way to replace those Villages, such as a gainer like Workshop, is helpful. Relatedly, some of the good partners for Procession are likely to be cards that can replace themselves when Processed. Bridge, Border Village, Ironworks, and Fortress can do this in different ways. Ironworks in particular gives you some good combinations: open Chapel/Ironworks, gain a second Ironworks, gain two Processions, then play Procession -> Procession -> Ironworks-> Ironworks to get back the two Ironworks and the Procession you trashed and grab another and three ′s. Graverobber also lets you convert other Graverobbers to Provinces or to restock Graverobbers from the trash (And of course Graverobber/Rogue lets you reclaim good cards that you previously trashed).
I should probably also mention the cards that rely on Actions being in play, such as Goons, Highways, and Peddlers. These cards all work well (indirectly) with Throne Rooms but have obvious problems with Procession.
 Specific Uses
If we get back to the positive, we can find plenty of good situations to trash Action cards. Using Procession to trash Ruins might be worthwhile when you consider the small bonus from playing the Action twice. You might also be able to tidy up after a Swindler or trash redundant cards like a Chapel, but Procession could easily be the wrong card for the job unless you have controlled/assisted drawing for your deck. You still need a deck that would be suitable for a Throne Room.
Some actions can remove themselves anyway (Island, Mining Village, Death Cart) so Processing them gives the card gain without a trashing penalty. Many Dark Ages cards can give benefits when trashed. Some Action cards can provide a lot of benefit from an instant double play but provide less benefit as the game progresses, so it isn’t a disaster for them to be trashed even with no replacement. This is very true for Cursers, especially the Cursers, but it also holds true for Chapel, Ironworks, Moneylender, Mine, and Swindler. If you’re not going to shuffle your deck again you probably don’t mind which action cards you trash in the search for .
 In Summary
If you put together the plus points and stay clear of the minus points then we roughly have
- Action heavy decks with good drawing to give choice of cards to process
- Good sequences of cards through cost - - - to give power and acceleration
- Actions cards that are flexible, genuinely useful, and disposable
- Ability to regain or otherwise replace cards that you process, whether via +Buy or more exotic means
- Tricks in gaining/trashing cards to get extra benefit or limit losses.
- Combo: Fortress and Procession: Using Procession on Fortress plays the Fortress twice, gains you a action, and returns the Fortress to your hand to be played again. Thus playing Procession-Fortress has roughly the same combined effect as playing two Laboratories, three Villages, and a University.
- Procession is a decent tool for trashing Ruins, since it allows you to get the Ruins out of your deck while still getting the bonus from playing the Ruins. In a Cultist game, you can use Procession to trash Ruins, and then when the Ruins pile is almost empty you can use it to trash Cultist for its on-trash bonus. A reminder: if Poor House is in game, you must gain it when you use Procession on any Ruins, so do consider this carefully.
- Action cards that were going to get trashed or set aside anyway: Embargo, Feast, Island, Engineer sometimes Death Cart and Farmers' Market.
- If Border Village is in the Kingdom, you can play your important Actions twice and trash them for a Border Village, gaining them back (or turning them into something else costing ) while getting a free Village for your troubles. In a very strong engine deck, you might even be able to draw the replacement card and play it again in the same turn.
- If Way of the Turtle is in play, you can use the Way for the second play, causing Procession to lose track of the card, and thus unable to trash, while still gaining another Action card costing more
- Horse gets played twice, and is not trashed, and you gain a cost action.
- Cavalry generates Horses, which can be processioned to make more Cavalries or more Processions, providing many cards in hand and cost actions.
- Cards at the wrong costs, with gaps or clumped together at one cost. If there is no Action card costing exactly one more than the trashed Action card, then one does not gain an Action card after the trashing step.
- Potion Action Cards; Procession will play these twice, but you cannot gain a non-Potion Action card from a trashed Potion action card, nor can you gain a Potion Action card from trashing a non-Potion Action card.
 English versions
|You may play an Action card from your hand twice. Trash it. Gain an Action card costing exactlymore than it.||Dark Ages 1st Edition||August 2012|
|You may play an Action card from your hand twice. Trash it. Gain an Action card costing exactlymore than it.||Dark Ages 2nd Edition||September 2017|
|You may play a non-Duration Action card from your hand twice. Trash it. Gain an Action card costing exactlymore than it.||Dominion 2019 Errata and Rules Tweaks||September 24, 2019|
 Other language versions
|Finnish||Virkanimitys (lit. appointment)|
|German||Prozession|| Du darfst eine Aktionskarte aus deiner
Hand zweimal ausspielen.
Entsorge die ausgespielte Karte und
nimm dir eine Karte, die genau
|HiG translation error: "Gain a card ..." (omitted "Action")|
|Japanese||行進 (pron. kōshin, lit. march)||手札のアクションカード1枚を2度使用してもよい。それを廃棄する。それよりコストが高いアクションカード1枚を獲得する。|
|Korean||행렬 (pron. haenglyeol)|
|Polish||Procesja||Although Polish version is not released, this card is referred to in the Polish version of Empires rulebook|
|Russian||Шествие (pron. shyestviye)|
 Secret Historyor +Potion, play it. So you could go, play a Moneylender, trash it, gain a Golem, play the Golem. It was crazy and confusing but had a certain something.