(→Other language versions)
(→top: added improve template)
|Line 1:||Line 1:|
|name = Relic
|name = Relic
Latest revision as of 17:35, 4 March 2021
|This page is awaiting large-scale edits by the community to meet quality and format standards. The information on this page may be outdated. Join the #wiki-meta channel on the Dominion Discord server to participate.|
|Type(s)||Treasure - Attack|
When you play this, each other player puts their –1 Card token on their deck.
 Official FAQ
- This is a Treasure worth .
- You play it in your Buy phase, like other Treasures.
- When you play it, you also make each other player put his -1 Card token on his deck, which will cause those players to draw one less card the next time they draw cards; see the Tokens section.
- Relic is an Attack despite not being an Action; it can be blocked with Moat and responded to with Caravan Guard and so on.
- A player responding to Relic with Caravan Guard first plays Caravan Guard, including drawing a card, and then puts his -1 Card token on his deck.
There is no strategy article for Relic, but the card has been discussed on the forum.
On play, Relic is just a Silver with an attack. So, if you buy Relic, you do it for the attack, otherwise you might as well have bought a Silver instead.
Thankfully, the attack, while not completely overcentralizing, is in fact pretty decent. When compared to Militia, they both give and decrease your opponent's handsize. Militia works on their current turn, while Relic works sometimes on their current turn and sometimes on their next turn, depending on whether or not they have a draw card like Smithy in hand. Militia makes them discard two cards, lowering their handsize by 2, while Relic only lowers their handsize by 1; however, with Relic, they can't choose which card to discard, so the attack may sometimes be stronger and sometimes be weaker. Relic's attack, in fact, might be best compared with Minion, but without the cycling. Finally, Relic is more expensive than Militia, but it doesn't cost an Action to play, unlike Militia, and so can't collide or be drawn dead.
In engines, you rarely want more than one Relic, since the attack doesn't stack; your opponent only has one -Card token. If you do want a second Relic, it's probably because of some mid-turn shenanigans with Council Room or Lost City with a gainer. Sometimes, you don't want the Relic at all, especially in quicker games or games where you can draw your deck reliably, even with a 4-card hand. It's important to consider that Relic is a stop card like Silver, so it might interfere with your engine, and the attack isn't so strong that it's unskippable.
In Big Money or slogs, getting multiple Relics is not a bad idea; you'll be slightly sad if they collide, but the chances of that happening are a lot slimmer than in an engine, and chances are you don't want too many other 's anyway. If you hit however, and you already have a Relic, you probably want to buy Gold instead.
- Engines that don't mind Treasure, for example with Magpie or just strong draw in general
- Relic's attack can be extra offensive if you can play it during the Action phase, with Black Market or Storyteller, if you play something like Minion, Legionary, or Council Room afterwards.
- Torturer can be especially brutal with Relic support
- Some cards interfere with the attack, and thus counter Relic effectively, such as Envoy, Advisor, Venture and draw-to-X cards like Library.
 English versions
|. When you play this, each other player puts his -1 Card token on his deck.||Adventures 1st Edition||April 2015|
|. When you play this, each other player puts their –1 Card token on their deck.||Adventures 2nd Edition||August 2017|
 Other language versions
Wenn du diese Karte ausspielst, muss jeder Mitspieler seinen -[Karte]-Marker auf seinen Nachziehstapel legen.
|Japanese||遺物 (pron. ibutsu)||。 他のプレイヤーは全員、山札の上に自分の-1カードトークンを置く。|
|Polish||Relikt||Although Polish version is not released, this card is referred to in the Polish version of Empires rulebook|
|Russian||Реликвия (pron. ryelikviya)|
 Secret History