(→top: added improve template)
|Line 1:||Line 1:|
|name = Steward
|name = Steward
Latest revision as of 17:47, 4 March 2021
|This page is awaiting large-scale edits by the community to meet quality and format standards. The information on this page may be outdated. Join the #wiki-meta channel on the Dominion Discord server to participate.|
|Choose one: +2 Cards; or +; or trash 2 cards from your hand.|
Steward is an Action card from Intrigue. Keeping with the choices theme in Intrigue, Steward gives you a choice of whether to use it as a trasher, a terminal Silver, or terminal card draw. It is most often used as a fairly fast early-game trasher, especially when setting up an engine, with some mid- and late-game uses.
 Official FAQ
- First choose one of the three options, then do it.
- If you pick "trash 2 cards from your hand" and only have one card in hand, you trash that card; if you choose that option and have 2 or more cards in hand, you have to trash 2.
 Other Rules clarifications
- You first choose which two cards to trash, then trash them both at the same time, and then choose which order to activate any when-trashed effects.
 Strategy Article
There is no strategy article for Steward.
Steward is a generally strong and flexible card, and is one of the better enablers of engine strategies; it was ranked #3 on the January 2011 Five Best list, but did not make it onto the end-of-year list. Cards
Steward is most commonly used as an early-game trasher with late-game utility; trashing two cards at once is good enough trashing to set up a reasonable engine, and it can be used as a terminal silver or weak terminal draw once there are no longer any good trashing targets.
A common conundrum is whether to use Steward for trashing or for +in this forum post; the opinion of good players seems to be that trashing will usually be the right choice (since, after all, why would you have bought the Steward if you didn't want the early trashing?) but this is by no means settled for all cases. A rare exception can sometimes be made for scenarios like being able to buy Goons or Border Village+Torturer on turns 3 or 4. The case for trashing is especially strengthened when there is a good Kingdom card option (such as Pawn or Fool's Gold). Since, trashing will often leave you with buying power remaining in your hand.if you draw Steward with 3-4 Coppers on your first shuffle. This is discussed
Steward can be used as a mediocre Big Money enabler, as discussed here. Steward is optionally a terminal drawer, but because it also has a strong trashing option, it lends itself much more to setting up engines than to being played in BM. In the unlikely event that you choose to play it in BM, you’re basically only going to want to use the trash ability if you’re not hurting your buying power. You’ll tend to use the + more early and use the +2 cards when + seems relatively weak (e.g. it gets you to ).
 Comparisons with other early-game trashers
Steward has a similar effect to other early-game trashers, and is often compared to them. Usually you will only want to buy one such card.
When Chapel is on the board, Chapel is significantly faster at setting up an engine. Although Steward does retain more late-game utility and has greater flexibility, it is still weaker in most circumstances. Remake is also somewhat similar as an early-game trasher; which is a better buy depends heavily on what upgrade options are available for Remake. Unlike Chapel or Remake, Steward works very well with Throne Room and King's Court, which enable the card to be used for a combination of draw, coin, and trashing, as need be.
- Engines which need trashing.
 English versions
|Choose one: +2 Cards; or +; or trash 2 cards from your hand.||Intrigue 1st Edition||July 2009|
|Choose one: +2 Cards; or +; or trash 2 cards from your hand.||Intrigue 2nd Edition||October 2016|
 Other language versions
 Secret History. It wasn't interesting enough, so I traded in the Actions and Buys for trashing two cards.