Editing Supply

Jump to: navigation, search

Warning: You are not logged in.

Your IP address will be recorded in this page's edit history.
The edit can be undone. Please check the comparison below to verify that this is what you want to do, and then save the changes below to finish undoing the edit.
Latest revision Your text
Line 1: Line 1:
 
[[Image:Supply.jpg|thumb|right|500px|The Supply for a particular game of Dominion.]]
 
[[Image:Supply.jpg|thumb|right|500px|The Supply for a particular game of Dominion.]]
  
The '''Supply''' consists of all the cards a player is able to buy in a game. These include the [[Kingdom]] cards, the [[basic cards|basic]] [[Treasure]] and [[Victory]] cards, {{Card|Curse|Curses}}, and [[Ruins]] if they are available. Some cards, such as [[Reward]]s, {{Card|Spoils}}, [[Loot]]s, {{Card|Horse}}, {{Card|Madman}}, and {{Card|Mercenary}} are not in the Supply, but are able to be gained or otherwise acquired through the effects of specific other cards.
+
The '''Supply''' consists of all the cards a player is able to buy in a game. These include the [[Kingdom]] cards, the [[basic cards|basic]] [[Treasure]] and [[Victory]] cards, {{Card|Curse|Curses}}, and [[Ruins]] if they are available. Some cards, such as [[Prize|Prizes]], {{Card|Spoils}}, [[Loot]]s, {{Card|Madman}}, and {{Card|Mercenary}}, are not in the Supply, but are able to be gained or otherwise acquired through the effects of specific other cards.
  
 
== Overview ==
 
== Overview ==
Line 12: Line 12:
 
Ordinarily each pile in the Supply consists of several copies of the same card. The four exceptions to this are Ruins, {{Card|Knights}}, {{Card|Castles}}, and [[Split pile]] cards, which are each Supply piles containing two or more differently named cards; in these cases, only the top card of the pile is visible to players and available to be bought or gained. For this reason, although the entirety of any Supply pile is physically part of the Supply, only the top card of any pile is considered to be "in the Supply". For instance, when {{Card|Band of Misfits}} requires you to choose a "card in the Supply", you may not choose a card in the Ruins or Knights pile other than the one on top.
 
Ordinarily each pile in the Supply consists of several copies of the same card. The four exceptions to this are Ruins, {{Card|Knights}}, {{Card|Castles}}, and [[Split pile]] cards, which are each Supply piles containing two or more differently named cards; in these cases, only the top card of the pile is visible to players and available to be bought or gained. For this reason, although the entirety of any Supply pile is physically part of the Supply, only the top card of any pile is considered to be "in the Supply". For instance, when {{Card|Band of Misfits}} requires you to choose a "card in the Supply", you may not choose a card in the Ruins or Knights pile other than the one on top.
  
When a pile is empty, it is no longer considered to be part of the Supply.  Should it cease to be empty, such as through {{way|Way of the Horse}}, it would once again be part of the Supply.  A player can always check how many cards are left in any Supply pile, as well as any non-Supply pile.
+
When a pile is empty, it is no longer considered to be part of the Supply.  Should it cease to be empty, such as through {{Card|Ambassador}}, it would once again be part of the Supply.  A player can always check how many cards are left in any Supply pile, as well as any non-Supply pile.
 
If three or more piles in the Supply are empty at the end of a turn, the game ends.
 
If three or more piles in the Supply are empty at the end of a turn, the game ends.
  
Line 35: Line 35:
 
===Cards that return cards to the Supply===
 
===Cards that return cards to the Supply===
 
* {{card|Ambassador}}
 
* {{card|Ambassador}}
Several [[#Cards referencing a pile which may be in the Supply|other cards listed below]] are capable of returning cards to Supply piles, without referencing the Supply in their text.
+
Several other cards are capable of returning cards to Supply piles, such as {{card|Swap}}, without referencing the Supply in their text.
  
 
===Cards that [[rotate]] Supply piles===
 
===Cards that [[rotate]] Supply piles===
Line 57: Line 57:
 
* {{Card|Carpenter}}
 
* {{Card|Carpenter}}
 
* {{Card|Territory}}
 
* {{Card|Territory}}
* {{Card|Search}}
 
 
* {{Landmark|Tower}}
 
* {{Landmark|Tower}}
  
Line 73: Line 72:
 
* {{Landmark|Obelisk}}
 
* {{Landmark|Obelisk}}
 
* {{Ally|Family of Inventors}}
 
* {{Ally|Family of Inventors}}
* [[Trait]]s
 
  
 
=== Cards that interact with multiple Supply piles at setup ===
 
=== Cards that interact with multiple Supply piles at setup ===
Line 84: Line 82:
 
* {{Card|Temple}}
 
* {{Card|Temple}}
 
* {{Card|Wild Hunt}}
 
* {{Card|Wild Hunt}}
 
=== Cards referencing a pile which may be in the Supply ===
 
Although not referencing the word “Supply” those cards can interact with Supply piles.
 
* {{Way|Way of the Butterfly}}
 
* {{Way|Way of the Horse}}
 
* {{Card|Swap}}
 
  
 
== Non-Supply ==
 
== Non-Supply ==
Line 95: Line 87:
 
Anything that is not from a Basic card pile or a Kingdom card pile is not considered to be part of the Supply.
 
Anything that is not from a Basic card pile or a Kingdom card pile is not considered to be part of the Supply.
 
=== Cards not in the Supply ===
 
=== Cards not in the Supply ===
There are many cards available in Dominion that can never actually be bought; these are usually marked with an asterisked cost, and an italicized parenthetical at the bottom of their card text explaining that they are not in the Supply. The asterisk in their cost has no effect on gameplay other than to signify this; all effects that care about costs affect non-Supply cards normally. (An asterisk may be also be used in a [[Kingdom]] card's cost to represent that it is an unusual cost, such as with {{Card|Peddler}}.) Non-Supply cards must be gained (or otherwise acquired) via other cards that ''are'' available in the Supply, [[Event]]s or [[Trait]], namely:
+
There are many cards available in Dominion that can never actually be bought; these are marked with an asterisked cost, and an italicized parenthetical at the bottom of their card text explaining that they are not in the Supply. The asterisk in their cost has no effect on gameplay other than to signify this; all effects that care about costs affect non-Supply cards normally. (An asterisk may be also be used in a [[Kingdom]] card's cost to represent that it is an unusual cost, such as with {{Card|Peddler}}.) Non-Supply cards must be gained (or otherwise acquired) via other cards that ''are'' available in the Supply, or [[Event]]s, namely:
  
* {{Card|Joust}} instructs you to gain a [[Reward]] from the Reward pile; the similar [[removed]] card {{card|Tournament}} does the same with [[Prize]]s.
+
* {{Card|Tournament}} instructs you to gain a [[Prize]] from the Prize pile.
 
* {{Card|Bandit Camp}}, {{Card|Marauder}}, and {{Card|Pillage}} instruct you to gain a {{Card|Spoils}} from the Spoils pile.
 
* {{Card|Bandit Camp}}, {{Card|Marauder}}, and {{Card|Pillage}} instruct you to gain a {{Card|Spoils}} from the Spoils pile.
 
* {{Card|Hermit}} [[exchange]]s for a {{Card|Madman}} from the Madman pile.
 
* {{Card|Hermit}} [[exchange]]s for a {{Card|Madman}} from the Madman pile.
Line 108: Line 100:
 
* {{Card|The Swamp's Gift}} instructs you to gain a {{Card|Will-o'-Wisp}} from the Will-o'-Wisp pile.
 
* {{Card|The Swamp's Gift}} instructs you to gain a {{Card|Will-o'-Wisp}} from the Will-o'-Wisp pile.
 
* {{Card|Exorcist}} instructs you to gain any [[Spirit]] (one of {{Card|Will-o'-Wisp}}, {{Card|Imp}}, or {{Card|Ghost}}) from its appropriate pile.
 
* {{Card|Exorcist}} instructs you to gain any [[Spirit]] (one of {{Card|Will-o'-Wisp}}, {{Card|Imp}}, or {{Card|Ghost}}) from its appropriate pile.
* {{Card|Horse}} cards can be gained with:
+
* {{Event|Bargain}}, {{Card|Cavalry}}, {{Event|Demand}}, {{Card|Groom}}, {{Card|Hostelry}}, {{Card|Livery}}, {{Card|Paddock}}, {{Event|Ride}}, {{Card|Scrap}}, {{Card|Sleigh}}, {{Event|Stampede}}, and {{Card|Supplies}} may instruct you to gain a {{Card|Horse}} from the Horse pile.
** [[Card]]s : {{Card|Cavalry}}, {{Card|Groom}}, {{Card|Hostelry}}, {{Card|Livery}}, {{Card|Paddock}}, {{Card|Scrap}}, {{Card|Sleigh}}, {{Card|Supplies}}
+
* [[Loot]] cards can be gained via a variety of other cards and [[Event]]s.
** [[Event]]s : {{Event|Bargain}}, {{Event|Demand}}, {{Event|Ride}}, {{Event|Stampede}}
+
* [[Loot]] cards can be gained with:
+
** [[Card]]s : {{Card|Jewelled Egg}}, {{card|Search}}, {{card|Cutthroat}}, {{card|Pickaxe}}, {{card|Wealthy Village}}, {{card|Sack of Loot}}
+
** [[Event]]s : {{Event|Peril}}, {{Event|Foray}}, {{Event|Looting}}, {{Event|Invasion}}, {{Event|Prosper}}
+
** [[Trait]] : {{Trait|Cursed}}
+
  
  
Additionally, while [[Shelter]]s, [[Heirloom]]s, [[Zombie]]s, and cards from the {{Card|Black Market}} deck do not have an asterisked cost, and do not have card text distinguishing them as such, they are not part of the Supply as they do not come from a pile. Similarly, {{card|Ferryman}} adds a Kingdom card pile outside the Supply for a given game.
+
Additionally, while [[Shelter]]s, [[Heirloom]]s, [[Zombie]]s, and cards from the {{Card|Black Market}} deck do not have an asterisked cost, and do not have card text distinguishing them as such, they are not part of the Supply as they do not come from a pile.
  
 
=== [[Trash]] pile ===
 
=== [[Trash]] pile ===
 
The trash is not part of the Supply.  While the cards in it can come originally from the Supply, you cannot normally buy or gain from the trash.  There are a few cards that allow you to gain from it, however:
 
The trash is not part of the Supply.  While the cards in it can come originally from the Supply, you cannot normally buy or gain from the trash.  There are a few cards that allow you to gain from it, however:
* {{Card|Lurker}}, {{Card|Graverobber}}, {{Card|Rogue}}, {{Card|Treasurer}}, {{Card|Lich}} and {{Card|Shaman}} enable you to gain a card of your choice from the trash (subject to certain restrictions).
+
* {{Card|Lurker}}, {{Card|Graverobber}}, {{Card|Rogue}}, {{Card|Treasurer}} and {{Card|Lich}} enable you to gain a card of your choice from the trash (subject to certain restrictions).
 
* {{Card|Thief}} and {{Card|Noble Brigand}} instruct you to gain specific cards which were just trashed.
 
* {{Card|Thief}} and {{Card|Noble Brigand}} instruct you to gain specific cards which were just trashed.
  
 
=== Miscellaneous ===
 
=== Miscellaneous ===
 
* {{Card|Black Market}} tells you to buy from the Black Market deck, which is constructed from Kingdom cards not available in the current game's Supply.
 
* {{Card|Black Market}} tells you to buy from the Black Market deck, which is constructed from Kingdom cards not available in the current game's Supply.
* "[[Card-shaped thing]]s" other than actual cards never become part of a player's deck, and are not considered part of the Supply:
+
* "[[Card-shaped thing]]s" other than actual cards never become part of a player's deck, and are not considered part of the Supply.
 
** [[Event]]s and [[Project]]s can be bought during a player's normal Buy phase, but given that they cannot, by their nature, be gained, are not truly part of the Supply.
 
** [[Event]]s and [[Project]]s can be bought during a player's normal Buy phase, but given that they cannot, by their nature, be gained, are not truly part of the Supply.
 
** [[Landmark]]s, though represented by cards on the table along with the Supply, are really just new rules that apply for that particular game.
 
** [[Landmark]]s, though represented by cards on the table along with the Supply, are really just new rules that apply for that particular game.

Please note that all contributions to DominionStrategy Wiki are considered to be released under the Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike (see DominionStrategy Wiki:Copyrights for details). If you do not want your writing to be edited mercilessly and redistributed at will, then do not submit it here.
You are also promising us that you wrote this yourself, or copied it from a public domain or similar free resource. Do not submit copyrighted work without permission!

Cancel | Editing help (opens in new window)
Personal tools
Namespaces

Variants
Views
Actions
Navigation
Toolbox