(Updating rules clarifications on throning cards and durations)
(→top: added improve template)
|Line 1:||Line 1:|
|name = Throne Room
|name = Throne Room
Revision as of 17:50, 4 March 2021
|This page is awaiting large-scale edits by the community to meet quality and format standards. The information on this page may be outdated. Join the #wiki-meta channel on the Dominion Discord server to participate.|
|You may play an Action card from your hand twice.|
Throne Room is an Action card from the Base set. It allows you to play another Action card from your hand twice, as if you had a Village and two copies of that Action card. It's great when you have lots of Action cards and are sure you'll be able to draw Throne Room in hand with a good Action, but be careful—if you buy it too early, or when you have too many Treasure and Victory cards and not enough Action cards, you'll have no Actions to play with it and it'll be a dead card!
Cards similar to Throne Room are often called Throne Room variants.
- Playing an Action card from your hand is optional.
- If you do play one, you resolve it completely, then play it a second time.
- You cannot play other cards in-between (unless told to by the card, such as with Vassal or Throne Room itself).
- Playing Action cards with Throne Room is just like playing Action cards normally, except it does not use up Action plays for the turn.
- For example if you start a turn by playing Throne Room on Village, you would draw a card, get +2 Actions, draw another card, and get +2 Actions again, leaving you with 4 Actions.
- If you Throne Room a Throne Room, you may play an Action card twice, then may play another Action card twice; you do not play one Action card four times.
Other Rules clarifications
- When you play Throne Room and choose to target a Duration, the Throne Room stays out in play with the Duration that it affects. Even if the targeted Duration won't do anything next turn on its second execution (for example, if it is a Tactician), the Throne Room still stays out. The Throne Room is always discarded during Clean-up if the Duration is also discarded or otherwise has left play (such as being trashed due to Bonfire). If you Throne Room a Throne Room which affects a Duration, the top-level Throne Room does not stay in play and gets cleaned up during the Clean-up phase of the turn.
- Remember that Throne Room does NOT "double" a card - it simply makes you play it twice. It may have different effects the first and second time it is played, so remember to follow all the instructions on the card fully from top to bottom, and then go back and follow them a second time.
In the first edition of Dominion, using Throne Room's ability was mandatory if Throne Room was played. Donald X. Vaccarino revised the card because that offered no provision for keeping the player honest: if a player claimed that they had no Actions in hand, and that was why they weren't activating Throne Room's ability, there was no way for their opponents to verify that this was the case.
The first-edition card text could sometimes have adverse effects in a chain of stacked Throne Rooms and draw cards: if you Throne Room a Throne Room, by the time you play the second Throne Room a second time, you might have Actions in hand that you don't want to play. Under the first-edition card text, you would be forced to play one of them (twice) anyway; in the second edition, you don't have to if you don't want to.
There is no strategy article on Throne Room.
Throne Room is a powerful addition to most decks with a high action density. It's weak in games where you might draw it without any good actions. It's typically not a good buy on turn 1 or 2, since you won't yet have good actions to Throne Room.
Throne room as a village
In the presence of cards that give +1 Action, a Throne Room can be used as a makeshift Village. Cantrips are especially useful to this end, as they replace the two cards played, leaving an additional +2 Actions.
In some cases, the combination of Throne Room and cards giving +1 Action can be used to construct a viable engine that would normally require Villages, on boards without any Villages. As with most engines, trashing is important.
Throne room as a replacement for cards that run out
In some games, there is a race to grab certain cards before the pile empty, like Minion, City, or Grand Market, cards that you want to play as many copies of as possible per turn. If the density of these cards in your deck is high enough and your deck sufficiently thin that you draw one of these cards each turn, Throne Rooms can act as a "substitute" for these power cards. This benefit is especially useful because you can pick up the Throne Rooms for cheaper than the desirable cards.
- Desirable cantrips make a Throne Room more likely to function as a Village, and reduce the risk of drawing the card dead.
- Strong trashing like Chapel helps line up Throne Room with good targets.
The Throne Room Variations
Donald X posted his thoughts on combos with the Intrigue cards:
|Choose an Action card in your hand. Play it twice.||Dominion 1st Edition||October 2008|
|You may play an Action card from your hand twice.||Dominion 2nd Edition||October 2016|
Other language versions
Secret History. My feeling was that you didn't want to buy two on turns 1 and 2, and probably didn't want to buy one on either of those turns (except with the