From DominionStrategy Wiki
|Follow the instructions of played Reckless cards twice. When discarding one from play, return it to its pile.|
Reckless is a Trait from Plunder. Cards with this trait perform their abilities twice when you play them, as though they were Throned; but become one-shots and return to the Supply instead of returning to your discard pile in the Clean-up phase.
 Official FAQ
- Reckless does two things, at different times. When you play a Reckless card, you follow its instructions an extra time - follow them entirely, then follow them again - and when you discard one from play, you return it to its Supply pile.
- With Duration cards those may not happen on the same turn.
- If you skip following the instructions of the card - for example by using a Way (from Menagerie) instead - then you don't follow them an extra time, but still return the card when discarding it from play.
 Other rules clarifications
- Just like Ways, if a Reckless card is affected by Enchantress and/or Highwayman, you won't do its instructions twice, and you still return the Reckless card to its pile when discarding it from play. 
- The exception is Way of the Chameleon, which makes you "follow this card's instructions." So if you play a Reckless card as Way of the Chameleon, you'll follow its instructions twice, switching +Cards and + both times. 
- Even though you follow a Reckless card's instructions twice, that only counts as 1 card played (which matters for e.g. Conspirator).
- If any abilities trigger after playing a Reckless card (e.g. Frigate or Landing Party), you start doing them after you follow the card's instructions twice.
- If a Reckless card is an Attack, a single Shield reveal (which you reveal before the first iteration of the Reckless card) will block both attacks (even if you want to get attacked the 2nd time). 
- If an attacked player draws a Shield as a result of the 1st attack (e.g. the attack was Soothsayer), they don't get to reveal the Shield against the 2nd attack.
- If a Reckless card never gets discarded from play (e.g. Quartermaster, Crew, or a one-shot), you'll follow its instructions twice, but you'll never return it to its pile (so there's effectively no downside).
- If something else moves a Reckless card when it's discarded from play (e.g. it's a Merchant Camp that topdecks itself), it'll fail to return to its pile.
- If Highwayman is Reckless, then when you discard it from play at the start of a turn, you'll return it to its pile, and then get +6 Cards.
 English versions
|Follow the instructions of played Reckless cards twice. When discarding one from play, return it to its pile.||Plunder||December 2022|
 Other language versions
|German||Waghalsig|| Befolge die Anweisungen der gespielten Waghalsigen
Karten zweimal. Wenn du eine Waghalsige Karte aus
dem Spiel ablegst, lege sie auf ihren Stapel zurück.
 Secret History
Donald X. posted a screenshot of other wordings on Discord .
Initially played the card twice, then trashed it. Some work went into this wording, trying to deal with various cases that messed up tracking or had other issues. In the end it may not be quite there, but man, it's in the set.