From DominionStrategy Wiki
States, introduced in Nocturne, are effects that apply to one player, that are not tracked by normal cards or Events.
States are not "cards"; any text referring to a "card" does not apply to States. However, for reference, the State effects are printed on cards in a landscape orientation with rusted frames.
When a player is affected by a State, the State card is placed in front of them for as long as the State's effect needs to be tracked.
 List of States
 Official Rules
- Three Hexes and one Kingdom card give players a State; this is a card that goes in front of a player and applies a rule.
- Deluded and Envious affect a single turn, and then are returned; Miserable and Twice Miserable affect scoring at the end of the game; Lost in the Woods affects one player's turns until another player takes it.
- Deluded and Envious are on the same card; have the relevant side face-up.
- Similarly Miserable and Twice Miserable are on the same card.
- A State only applies while a player has it.
The proofs for States were mistakenly made without expansion symbols, but this was fixed in time for the initial print run.
States are only used in Nocturne, but were the inspiration for the Artifacts in Renaissance.
 In other languages
- German: Zustand
- Russian: Состояние (pron. sostoyaniye)