If you have 8 or more cards in hand (after drawing), trash this and gain a Treasure.
Tragic Hero is an Action card from Nocturne. It's a potentially one-shot terminal draw with +Buy; if you have too many cards in hand after playing it, it dies (tragically), but leaves you with a Treasure of your choice.
 Official FAQ
- First draw three cards; then, if you have eight or more cards in hand, you trash Tragic Hero and gain a Treasure.
- If you cannot trash Tragic Hero (for example if you play it twice with Throne Room and trashed it the first time), you still gain the Treasure.
 Other rules clarifications
The discussion topic for Tragic Hero can be found here.
At first glance, Tragic Hero looks like a fairly weak terminal draw card, almost completely inferior to Margrave. However, it is actually pretty strong, it just requires a bit of cleverness as it carries more nuance than you'd expect. (Furthermore, the existence of Tragic Hero has made people realize how crazy Margrave really is.)
The obvious upside of Tragic Hero is that it's a terminal draw card that gives +Buy. Both of these things are very important for engines. The downside is that the Tragic Hero will die if you happen to have more than 8 cards in hand after drawing, which is the same as 6 cards before playing the card. However, this is not as bad as it sounds. As it turns out, it is often possible to use Tragic Hero in the same way you would use Draw-to-X cards, such as Library or Watchtower. You want to get rid of all of your junk cards as quickly as possible, then fill it with cards that decrease your handsize for some benefit - discard for benefit, disappearing villages, disappearing money or sifters. That way you can play multiple Tragic Heroes, drawing your deck, without ever having to trash one.
Tragic Hero has an advantage over true Draw-to-X cards, since it does actually work if you happen to get over the handsize limit, you only lose the Tragic Hero for a Treasure card. In some cases this might be worth it while you're still building; if you gain a Gold and buy a new Tragic Hero, you have saved . In other cases, similar to Mining Village, you actually want to get rid of the Tragic Hero for a Gold as long as you can draw it, because the game is almost over. Sometimes there are even better Treasures on the board than Gold, such as Horn of Plenty or Platinum. Tragic Hero can provide you with some extra payload in these cases, but it requires solid deck knowledge - if you don't know exactly what you're doing, you will be blowing up your engine without good reason. In rare cases, you could even go for a Tragic Hero megaturn, like with Madman.
In Big Money, ironically, you might actually want to trash Tragic Hero for a treasure, but you'll be unable to. Nevertheless, the vanilla effects of Tragic Hero are very strong for BM as well, so if there are no splitters on the board, Tragic Hero-BM is a serious consideration.
- Necromancer can use Tragic Hero if it's in the trash
- Lurker, Rogue and Graverobber can get Tragic Hero back from the trash
- Horn of Plenty, Platinum, or Bank and some way to trigger Tragic Hero to trash
- Almost anything that works well with draw-to-X works with Tragic Hero if you don't want it to blow up
- Hireling, Caravan and other delayed draw will kill Tragic Hero even sooner
- Cards that rely on large handsize or card variety: Menagerie, Hunting Party, City Quarter
 English versions
|+3 Cards. +1 Buy. If you have 8 or more cards in hand (after drawing), trash this and gain a Treasure.||Nocturne||November 2017|
 Other language versions
|French||Héros de tragédie|
|German||Tragischer Held|| + 3 Karten|
+ 1 Kauf
Wenn du (nach dem Ziehen) 8 oder mehr Handkarten hast, entsorge diese Karte und nimm eine Geldkarte.
|Japanese||悲劇の勇者 (pron. higeki no yūsha)||+3 カードを引く。 +1 購入。 引き終えた後、手札が8枚以上の場合、これを廃棄して財宝カード1枚を獲得する。|
|Russian||Трагический Герой (pron. tragichyeskiy gyeroy)|
 Secret History