From DominionStrategy Wiki
|Play this as if it were an Action card in the Supply costing up to. This is that card until it leaves play.|
 Official FAQ
- When you play this, you pick an Action card from the Supply that costs up to , and treat this card as if it were the card you chose.
- Normally this will just mean that you follow the instructions on the card you picked.
- For example, with Village in the Supply, you could play Overlord as Village and get +1 Card +2 Actions.
- Overlord also gets the chosen card's cost, name, and types, until it leaves play.
- If you play Overlord as a card that moves itself somewhere, such as to the trash or the Supply, Overlord will do that; for example Overlord played as Encampment will be set aside and return to the Overlord pile at the start of Clean-up.
- If you play Overlord as a Duration card, or as a Throne Room on a Duration card, Overlord will stay in play the same way the Duration card or Throne Room would.
- If you play an Overlord multiple times such as via a Throne Room, you will only pick what to play it as the first time; the other times it will be the same thing.
- Once in play, Overlord is the thing it copied, rather than an Overlord; for example Colonnade will produce if you buy a copy of that card, but not if you buy an Overlord.
- Overlord can only be played as a visible card in the Supply, and the top card of a pile; it cannot be played as a card from an empty pile, or as a card that has not been uncovered from a split pile, or as a card from a split pile that has been bought out, or as a non-Supply card (like Mercenary from Dominion: Dark Ages).
- Overlord cannot be played as Crown during a Buy phase, since Overlord itself is not a Treasure and so cannot be played in Buy phases.
 Other Rules clarifications
- See Band of Misfits for further information about interactions; Overlord plays almost identically to it.
- If Overlord is multiplied by a Throne Room variant, and trashed on the first play (by being played as a one-shot), its cost does not change when it picks a second Action to play as. This is relevant if it picks Band of Misfits; since Band of Misfits refers to a cheaper card, it must emulate an Action costing less than , rather than less than .
- Similarly, Procession used on an Overlord would try to gain a card costing (and fail, since no such card exists).
 Alternate Versions
 In other languages
- Dutch: Despoot (lit. despot)
- Finnish: Ylipäällikkö (lit. supreme commander)
- Japanese: 大君主 (pron. dai-kunshu, lit. great monarch)
- German: Lehnsherr (lit. feudal lord)
- Polish: Władca
- Russian: Повелитель (pron. povyelityel')
 Secret History