|Gain a Curse. If you do, trash a card from your hand. +1per it cost.|
 Official FAQ
- This does nothing once the Curse pile is empty.
- This only gives you +1 per the trashed card cost; it does not give anything for or in costs.
 Other rules clarifications
- Unlike similar cards or Events, Ritual cares about the cost of the card at the instant it is trashed, rather than checking on it later, when its cost may have changed.
One seemingly obvious target for this is victory cards, but the gain in VP tokens is almost entirely offset by the loss of VP the card represented (plus -1 and continued dead wood from the Curse). A Ritual applied to an Estate leaves you back where you started. Doing it to a Duchy or Province will net exactly 1 VP. Compare to Monument, a card that costs the same as this Event but will give you 1VP every time you play it.
Instead, this is best used near the end of the game to squeeze a final use from cards that don't otherwise provide VP, such as Gold, Peddler, or a Prince that failed to connect with the right Action card.
 English versions
|Gain a Curse. If you do, trash a card from your hand. +1per it cost.||Empires||June 2016|
 Other language versions
 Secret Historyper 2 Actions in play. It was a dud, then I tried trashing a card for , and there it is.