Trash a card from your hand.
+1 Card per it costs.
+2 Cards if it has in its cost.
Apprentice is an Action card from Alchemy. It is a trash-for-benefit card that provides non-terminal draw based on the trashed card's cost. It is okay for trashing your starting Estates, but poor for trashing Coppers and Curses; it shines when used to strategically trash expensive cards like Gold to get huge hands.
 Official FAQ
- If you do not have any cards left in hand to trash, you do not draw any cards.
- If you trash a card costing , such as Curse or Copper, you do not draw any cards.
- Otherwise you draw a card per the card you trashed cost, and another two cards if it had in its cost. For example, if you trash a Golem, which costs , you draw 6 cards.
 Other Rules clarifications
- If you trash a card with in the cost, the component is ignored.
 Strategy Article
There is no strategy article for Apprentice.
Apprentice is a non-terminal trasher that plays a very different role from early-game trashers like Chapel and Steward or Remake. It is more similar to Remodel in that it is a higher-cost card that benefits most from trashing high-value cards.
Apprentice is exceptionally poor for trashing copper and curses, as it gives no benefit. It is slightly better for trashing Estates, but the +2 Cards is more of a consolation, and not sufficient to make this card viable as an early-game accelerator. Very early in the game, Apprentice is usually best passed up in favor of stronger cards costing.
The true benefit of Apprentice is only evident when it is used to trash high-value cards. If the average value of your deck is high, each card drawn can easily net you Gold can be worth or more, quickly leading to a mega-turn if you get a good engine set up, or allowing you to speed through with double Province buys.or more, and with +Buy, trashing a high-value card like
Gainers, especially gainers like Hoard, Explorer, Horn of Plenty or Pilgrimage that can gain Gold or high-cost cards, are also great sources of Apprentice fodder, but even cards like Ironworks can give a substantial benefit.
Apprentice works best when the average value of your deck is high; otherwise, even if you draw one costly card you want to trash, the card draw from trashing a high-value card is unlikely to net you enough coin to buy back the card with enough extra coin to purchase a province or other key card. Even though Apprentice offers no benefit for trashing copper, the trashing of copper can be important to setting up an engine where Apprentice reaches its full potential. Apprentice thus benefits from early game trashers.
As a trasher, Apprentice looks superficially similar to Upgrade: both are non-terminals costing which draw cards. Which of the two cards is a better buy is situational: Apprentice is generally superior if there are no desirable targets for upgrading, but Upgrade can be superior when there are desirable -cost cards, or in the absence of +Buy or gainers to fuel Apprentice later in the game; Upgrade is also superior for trashing copper and curses.
- Deck-drawing engines
- A Fortress returns to hand after being trashed.
- Market Square
- Tunnel, Hoard, Explorer because they can gain Golds for Apprentice to trash.
- Cards with early-game use that can later be trashed:
- Gainers like Workshop and Ironworks
- Especially University, which can gain both Apprentices and material to trash with them.
 English versions
|+1 Action. Trash a card from your hand. +1 Card perit costs. +2 Cards if it has in its cost.||Alchemy 1st Edition||May 2010|
|+1 Action. Trash a card from your hand. +1 Card perit costs. +2 Cards if it has in its cost.||Alchemy 2nd Edition||physical set unreleased|
 Other language versions
|Chinese||學徒 (pron. xuétú)|
|Japanese||弟子 (pron. deshi)|
|Russian||Подмастерье (pron. podmastyer'ye)|
 Secret History. At that cost it was slow to get going, and eventually I put it back at . The potion part makes it seem less sad when you are playing an Alchemy-heavy game, and also answers the question "what does it do with potion costs" right on the card.
 Retrospectiveclause from Apprentice. It got that because 1) it meant every card in the set interacted in some way with