From DominionStrategy Wiki
|Trash a card from your hand. If it costsor more, gain a cheaper card and a Gold.|
 Official FAQ
- Trashing is not optional.
- If you trash a card costing , or if you have no cards left in hand to trash, nothing else happens.
- If you trash a card costing Supply, and are put into your discard pile. The cheaper card goes into your discard pile first. For example, if you trash a Silver (costing ), you could gain an Estate (costing ). or more, you gain a cheaper card and a Gold. Both come from the
- There will almost always be a cheaper card in the Supply, since Copper and Curse cost , but if there aren't any, you still gain a Gold.
- If there aren't any Gold left in the Supply, you still gain the cheaper card.
- Cards that cost only Transmute from Alchemy) or only (like Engineer from Empires) do not cost or more. (like
 Other Rules clarifications
Dismantling a gold will allow you to gain a cheaper card and return the gold. In this way, dismantle can be used like a gainer.
 English versions
|Trash a card from your hand. If it costsor more, gain a cheaper card and a Gold.||Dismantle||December 2017|
 Other language versions
 Secret History