|Illustrator(s)||Alejandro Gutiérrez Franco|
Look at the top 3 cards of your deck. Trash one of them. Discard one of them. Put the other one on top of your deck.
Lookout is an Action card from Seaside. When you play Lookout, you look at the top 3 cards of your deck and pick one to trash, one to discard, and one to put back; unless you know what's on top of your deck, be careful, because you might have to trash something you'd rather keep! Nevertheless, as a non-terminal trasher, Lookout can be a pretty good opening when the Kingdom is right.
 Official FAQ
- If you do not have 3 cards to look at from the top of your deck, look at as many as you can and then shuffle your discard pile to look at the remaining cards.
- You should look at all 3 cards before deciding which card to trash, which card to discard, and which card to put back on top of your deck.
- If the 3 cards you look at are the last 3 cards in your deck, the card you put back on top of your deck will be the only card left in your deck.
- If you have less than 3 cards to look at, even after shuffling, then you must follow the instructions on the card in order.
- If you only have one card to look at, you must trash it. If you have 2 cards to look at, you must trash one and discard one.
 Other Rules clarifications
You follow the instructions in order; first you look at 3 cards, then you trash one (and receive any on-trash benefits), then you discard one (and receive any on-discard benefits) and then you put one back on top of the deck.
The three cards you look at are not considered to still be the top cards of your deck while you are resolving Lookout. Thus, for example, if you trash a card with an on-trash draw bonus, such as Overgrown Estate, you will not draw one of the remaining two cards you're looking at, but rather the next one down.
 Strategy Article
There is no comprehensive strategy article for Lookout.
Lookout is one of the few non-terminal trashers in the game. However, only trashing a single card and the typical unpredictability in which card is trashed weakens Lookout a lot. Furthermore, the forced trashing, coupled with the uncertainty in what you draw, can often make lookout a dangerous play, especially towards the end of the game. Ideally, in games where you pick up a Lookout, you should keep track of what cards are remaining in your deck and not play Lookout if there is a good chance of a bad draw.
Lookout becomes much stronger when you can negate the unpredictability. If either you or your opponent plays a card which allows you to know what is coming up next, it allows you to much more safely play lookout. Lookout is a particularly effective defense against Sea Hag, which places the curse on top of your deck.
Because Lookout takes up a slot in your hand, it is often counter-productive in a Big Money deck. The lost buying power will slow you down from purchasing Gold, and trashing Estates and Coppers is not sufficient to compensate for that. Lookout becomes much better in engines where you are able to draw a large number of cards. It can be very effective in engines where you can draw your entire deck and then discard a junk card for Lookout to trash.
- Opponent's Sea Hag
- Deck inspection
- Big Money
- Other trashing
 Alternate versions
 In other languages
- Chinese: 瞭望員 (pron. liàowàngyuán)
- Czech: Strážní koš (lit. crow's nest)
- Dutch: Uitkijk
- Finnish: Tähystäjä
- French: Vigie
- German: Ausguck
- Italian: Vedetta
- Japanese: 見張り (pron. mihari)
- Korean: 망루 (pron. manglu, lit. watchtower)
- Polish: Bocianie gniazdo (lit. crow's nest)
- Russian: Смотровой (pron. smotrovoy)
- Spanish: Vigía
 Secret History