Ruined Market is an Action–Ruins from Dark Ages. It is typically given out by Looters, but can be bought if it is the top card of the Ruins pile. When played, it just gives +1 Buy.
 Official FAQ
When you play this, you just get +1 Buy. This is a Ruins; see Additional Rules for Dark Ages and Preparation.
 Other Rules clarifications
 Strategy Article
This Ruins has a niche use case where you'd want to buy it. While the +1 Card, +1 Action, +
, and minor filtering of the other Ruins are something you'd probably never want, there will be situations where the Kingdom has all the components for a roaring engine... but no +Buy! In that case, spotting the rare opportunity to deliberately buy a Ruins could win you the game and the eternal admiration of your playgroup.
- Super-powerful engine cards that don't have +Buy but need it. , , .
 Alternate versions
 In other languages
- Dutch: Verwoeste Markt (lit. devastated market)
- Finnish: Raunioitunut tori
- French: Marché en ruines
- German: Zerstörter Markt
- Japanese: 市場跡地 (pron. ichiba atochi, lit. site of demolished market)
- Korean: 폐허가 된 시장 (pron. pyeheoga doen sijang)
- Spanish: Mercado en Ruinas
 Card Art
The art shows a ruined version of the art for .
 Secret History
Back when, the main set had Confusion
—a blank card—and an attack that gave it out. Confusion just wasn't worth the 30 or 50 extra cards it required. It plays so much like . When I decided to make Dark Ages 500 cards, I of course thought of Confusion. Confusion still wasn't worth doing though. But what about more interesting penalty cards? They wouldn't need to be all the same even. And well there they are, the Ruins. It was always those five. Some people argued that Ruined Village was more funny than worth printing; it's easily the worst one, and in a multiplayer game someone just randomly got handed it while someone else got Abandoned Mine. But I thought that wasn't so bad, and felt that it was important that it be very easy to learn the Ruins. Four are +1's and then there's Survivors. Bam.
I needed a rule for putting out the pile, and so put "Looter
" on the bottom of the relevant kingdom cards. It seemed like it would be confusing if the Ruins pile wasn't in the supply, so it is; that meant the top card had to be visible, so that for example if I name it for we know that that's what you'd be buying (and you can't). This means you have to carefully deal them out in turn order and well that was as good as it got.