|Type(s)||Action - Attack|
|Each other player discards the top card of their deck, then gains a Curse onto their deck.|
- The Curses are given out in turn order, which can matter when the Curse pile is low.
- They go onto decks rather than into discard piles.
Other Rules clarifications
- Even when there are no Curses left, other players still discard the top card of their deck when Sea Hag is played.
Before it was removed, Sea Hag was a junking attack of varying impact. Unlike other cursers, Sea Hag offers no benefit beyond the attack, and therefore its strength rests entirely on how important that attack is in a particular Kingdom. Cursing your opponents is generally a powerful effect (especially early in the game), so Sea Hag can be an essential card; however, it’s unlikely to be useful if the Kingdom offers reasonably strong trashing or a better junking attack, such as Witch. When the Kingdom encourages you towards Sea Hag, gaining one early is usually a good plan.
Sea Hag’s main downside is that it takes up terminal space while doing nothing to help you either control your own deck or increase its payload; this also means it eventually becomes useless after the Curses run out. Compared to cards like Witch, it’s also relatively slow to distribute Curses, although their impact occurs sooner than usual since they’re deposited onto the top of your opponents' decks. It's possible to cause serious damage in this way: early in the game, drawing the Curse instead of a Copper may hurt an opponent's purchasing power substantially, and later on there are situations in which it might be enough to prevent them from drawing their deck (e.g. if they have a weak or unreliable engine). However, occasionally the topdecking simply makes it easier for an opponent to deal with the Curse before it can contaminate their next shuffle, for instance if their trasher is Lookout, which benefits from the certainty that its target is on top of the deck. There are a few situations (e.g. with Chariot Race) in which the ability to manipulate the top card of an opponent's deck could be useful for other reasons.
Beyond its use in Kingdoms which lack Curse-trashing, Sea Hag might occasionally pay off in a situation in which you believe you're ahead of your opponents, and therefore you can afford the opportunity costs of Sea Hag more readily than they can deal with the incoming Curses; similar considerations may, rarely, lead you to gain a second Sea Hag in the midgame. The availability of a trash-for-benefit effect to eventually get rid of Sea Hag can also enhance its attractiveness.
External strategy articles
Note: Article(s) below are by individual authors and may not represent the community's current views on cards, but may provide more in-depth information or give historical perspective. Caveat emptor.
Other language versions
Second Edition Removal