|Type(s)||Action - Victory|
Set aside this and another card from your hand. Return them to your deck at the end of the game.|
Island is an Action-Victory card from Seaside. When played, it sets aside itself and one other card on a playmat, getting them out of your deck until the end of the game; it acts as a one-shot trasher worth 2 . It can be a good opening to hide away an Estate or a good source of alternate for engines; it's a subtle card which is difficult to use optimally.
 Official FAQ
- When you first take this card, take an Island player mat.
- Island is both an Action card and a Victory card.
- In a 3- or 4- player game, use 12 Islands. Use 8 Islands in a 2-player game.
- Island and the card set aside with it are set aside face up on the Island player mat provided.
- They should not be shuffled back into your deck when you shuffle your discard pile.
- They are returned to your deck at the end of the game in order to calculate total victory points. Island is worth 2 .
- If you have no other cards in hand when you play Island, just set Island aside by itself.
- If you Throne Room an Island, set aside the Island and a card from your hand, then set aside another card from your hand.
- You may look through the cards on your Island playing mat (they are face up) and other players may ask to see what you have there as well.
 Other Rules clarifications
- If you Procession an Island, you set it aside with a card, then you set aside another card; you do not trash the Island because it has already been set aside, but you do gain a card costing more than the Island.
 Strategy Article
original article by silverspawn
Island is the combination of two largely unrelated effects in one package: it provides two engines, which tend to be strong boards. Because of this, you will almost never see a board where both effects are equally valuable, and likewise, both individual effects are usually too weak to warrant a buy on their own.and it thins your deck by one card. The problem with this specific combination is that both effects excel on very different types of boards. A static boost is better the weaker the board is, while thinning is mostly valuable in
So, how do you decide if Island is worth it? If you just want green cards, you can consider it to exile your Provinces, but make sure that the late thinning is really necessary. Mostly you want it for specific combinations. And if the board has none of that, just ignore it.and Island is the best option in your current turn, go for it. If you have a nice engine in a slim deck that's afraid of
If you do want Island, when exactly should you pick it up? In a lot of situations this decision is trivial, but if it's not, there is no general answer. It basically works like other trashers, so you'll just have to rely on intuition. Opening Island is only advisable on really weak boards.
This is really all I have to say about the card in general, so the rest of the article will be a list of enablers.
While the presence of a Workshop type card doesn't really make each copy of Island any more useful, it decreases the cost to gain them significantly. Ironworks is the best as it is a cantrip when gaining Island, and can be considered even on weak boards, just for the . Armory and a plain Workshop usually want to be integrated into an engine, preferably playing the gained Island on the same turn.
Hoard is really straightforward. Buying Duchies or Estates to trigger early Hoards is often a mistake, but buying Island is pretty good. Ask yourself whether you'd take an Island for free; if yes you should buy it over Gold itself, if not you might still want to buy it for or .
If you can just trash your Coppers but not your Estates or Shelters, using Island to clean the remaining junk out of your deck can be good, if the additional thinning is worth it. Loan and Counterfeit aren't as good for this as Spice Merchant, and Moneylender is most likely a trap.
Here we have a case where the fact that Island exiles cards rather than trashing them is the deciding factor. If you use Menagerie as your primary draw, you often run into problems once you pick up your second Province, especially if there is no way to discard them mid-turn. Island allows you to put that Province aside, effectively removing the problem while leaving theintact. Do this only if other cards allow you to trash down first.
 5. Wishing Well/Apothecary
If no better trashing is present and Copper isn't that bad of a card, you can consider using Island to get rid of your Estates or Shelters, and later your Provinces. You'll need a decent payload for this to be worth it.
 7. Procession
Island can be interesting for Procession, partly because it is a good target (you'll exile two cards, gain a card costing, and leave the 2 intact), and partly because its dual type aspect can make it a possible payload. Do this with caution.
Island is not a substitute for heavy trashing; it is a poor way to deal with Curses and Coppers. At first glance, it may seem that it might combo with Gardens or Silk Road, but those compete with Island at their price point, and both are stronger. You might also think that Scout could help you get your Island in hand with Victory cards, but once you've done that, you're left with a useless Scout in your deck, which could have been another Island anyway.
Island is a weak card. The most important thing is not to buy it without a good reason, and the most common misplay is to do just that. Still, it has its uses, the key is just knowing when to get it. There is no easy answer about what to do if you draw it without good targets; sometimes it's better to hold it off, but more often you probably just want to use it on a Copper.
- Ironworks and other gainers
- Treasure trashing
- Abundance of +Actions, like Fishing Village
- With Scrying Pool, can set aside dead victory cards.
- Other heavy trashing such as Chapel, Remake, Trading Post, or Count.
- Crossroads, Baron, and other cards that like Victory cards
- Opponents' Possessions
 Alternate versions
 In other languages
- Chinese: 島嶼 (pron. dǎoyǔ)
- Czech: Ostrov
- Dutch: Eiland
- Finnish: Saari
- French: Île
- German: Insel
- ASS translation error : omitted "Return them to yor deck at the end of the game."
- Italian: Isola
- Japanese: 島 (pron. shima)
- Korean: 섬 (pron. seom)
- Polish: Wyspa
- Russian: Остров (pron. ostrov)
- Spanish: Isla
 Card Art
 Secret History