is a promotional Action-Duration card. It twice lets you play an Action from the Supply.
 Official FAQ
 Other Rules clarifications
- You choose a non-Duration Action card from the Supply that costs up to and play it, leaving it there, then choose again at the start of your next turn.
- On the second turn, you can choose to play a different card, or the same card if there is still a copy of it in the Supply.
- Captain can only play a visible card in the Supply, and the top card of a pile; it cannot play a card from an empty pile, or a card that has not been uncovered from a split pile, or a card from a split pile that has been bought out, or a non-Supply card (such as ).
- The Action card stays in the Supply; if an effect tries to move it (such as putting itself on your Island Mat) it will fail to move it.
- Captain can play a card that trashes itself when played; if the card checks to see if it was trashed (such as ), it was not, but if the card does not check (such as ), it will function normally.
- Cards that normally move other cards from the Supply can move themselves when played via Captain; for example playing can gain itself, and playing can trash itself.
- Since the played card is not in play, "while this is in play" abilities (such as ) will not do anything.
- If there are no non-Duration Action cards in the Supply that cost up to the turn you play Captain, Captain still stays in play and tries to play a card at the start of your next turn.
- If Captain plays a card that plays a Duration card, that does not affect which turn Captain is discarded from play.
- You can enter an infinite loop with Captain, , , and cost reduction: With your – cost token on the Captain Supply pile, Band of Misfits can be played as Captain, and with cost reduction, Captain can play Band of Misfits. Since this results in Captain being played arbitrarily many times, at the start of your next turn you can play arbitrarily many Actions costing up to .
 Synergies and Combos
 English versions
|| Now and at the start of your next turn: Play a non-Duration Action card from the Supply costing up to
, leaving it there. || Captain
 Other language versions
|| Kapitän Tobias (lit. Captain Tobias)
This card was designed together with on request by ASS to commemorate the victors of the "Jubiläumsmeisterschaft" (jubilee championship), organized 2018 in Germany and Austria to celebrate ten years of Dominion. The man shown in the art is RTT, winner of the German championship in 2018. His real name is Tobias, which is referenced in the German name of the card.
 Secret History
wanted another promo
, for the player winning the big tournament. They forgot about this later, or misunderstood, but we'd already said we were doing it, so we still did it. Since was a more normal card, this one tried to be more exotic. We tried a bunch of things. One card that stood out as fun was Big , which was trashed to gain two cheaper cards ( 's) and play them. It had issues, like being crazy and running out piles like mad. I replaced it with Two Bands, which was a one-shot
two plays of . It was fun too, but had (easier) infinite loops, which I briefly addressed (but did not remove) by having it gain a too. That made it clunkier and uh less a thing of joy. The next version switched to being Band of Misfits on two different turns, and hooray, that's how it ended up. The final version has an infinite loop due to saying "up to " instead of e.g. the odious "costing no more than less than" (you put on it and play e.g. a , and then it can play Band of Misfits and Band of Misfits can play it). That still may get fixed via errata to Band of Misfits when next we reprint , as part of my purge of shapeshifting problems (with Band of Misfits, , and ). The German version will be Kapitän Tobias, after the winner of the tournament, and the art depicts him. He is around on the discord and forums as RTT.