Traveller is a card type introduced in Adventures; cards of this type are marked with a lightened arrow behind their card text. Travellers can, when discarded from play, be exchanged for other cards that are not in the Supply; thus a cheap card bought early becomes an expensive card given enough time.
 List of Travellers
 Official Rules
- Adventures has Traveller cards. These cards have an arrow over the text box to remind players of their ability to upgrade into another card.
- When a player discards a Traveller from play, he may exchange it for the card indicated; he returns the card being exchanged to its pile, takes the card he is exchanging it for, and puts that card into his discard pile.
- For example when exchanging Peasant for Soldier, he puts Peasant back into its pile and takes a Soldier and puts it into his discard pile.
- Exchanging is not trashing or gaining, and so does not trigger abilities like Travelling Fair's.
- It is optional.
- It only happens when the card is discarded from play; discarding it from hand, such as due to not playing it, will not trigger it.
- It only happens if the card being exchanged for has any copies available; if there are no Soldiers in the pile, Peasant cannot be exchanged at that time.
- If multiple cards do something when discarded from play, the player picks the order; for example, with no Soldiers left in the pile, a player with Peasant and Soldier in play could first exchange Soldier for Fugitive, then exchange Peasant for that Soldier.
- Page and Peasant are Kingdom cards that are Travellers. Page is exchanged for Treasure Hunter, which is exchanged for Warrior, which is exchanged for Hero, which is exchanged for Champion; Peasant is exchanged for Soldier, which is exchanged for Fugitive, which is exchanged for Disciple, which is exchanged for Teacher.
- Champion and Teacher are not Travellers; they cannot be exchanged for anything.
- Page and Peasant can be bought or otherwise gained when being used in a game, but the other cards cannot, they are not in the Supply.
- When a non-Supply pile is empty, that does not count as an empty pile for the game ending condition or for City (from Prosperity).
- If Page or Peasant is being used in a game, take the cards that they upgrade into (for Page: Treasure Hunter, Warrior, Hero, and Champion; for Peasant: Soldier, Fugitive, Disciple, and Teacher) and put them near the Supply.
- They can be in a single pile or multiple piles, depending on player preferences and table space.
 Other rules clarifications
- Exchanging must happen both ways; there must be somewhere for the discarding card to return to. If a Traveller is bought using Black Market, there is no pile to return it to and therefore it cannot be exchanged.
- Travellers in the trash, even though they are not from the Supply, may be gained by Graverobber or Rogue if they have the right cost.
- Cards emulating Travellers, such as Band of Misfits or Estates via Inheritance, can be exchanged; in that case, they return to their respective pile, and not to the pile of the Traveller they're emulating.
 In other languages
- Dutch: Reiziger
- French: Itinérant (lit. travelling)
- German: Reisender
- Russian: Путешественник (pron. putyeshyestvyennik)
 Secret History