||This page is awaiting large-scale edits by the community to meet quality and format standards. The information on this page may be outdated. Join the #wiki-general channel on the Dominion Discord server to participate.
When you gain an Action card during your turn, you may spend 2 Favors to play it.|
The City-state is an Ally from . It allows you to spend Favors to play Action cards immediately upon gaining them—an effect similar to the Project .
 Official FAQ
- If you gain an Action card in your Buy phase (such as by buying it), City-state can still let you play it then; if it gives you +Actions, that won't let you play more Action cards in your Buy phase, and if it draws you Treasures, you can only play them if you haven't bought anything yet.
- City-state can only play a card that's still wherever it was gained to (normally the discard pile) but can still play a card in your discard pile if it was covered up by other cards.
- City-state only works during your turns.
 English versions
|| When you gain an Action card during your turn, you may spend 2 Favors to play it.
|| March 2022
 Other language versions
|| Wenn du während deines Zuges eine Aktionskarte nimmst, darfst du 2 Gefallen einlösen, um sie zu spielen.
 Secret History
Originally just one Favor, which was nuts. Also it had the wording where you set aside the card, and check if you did. That went away with a rules change: now you can't play a card you can't find (though you can replay it, meaning on s still work).