From DominionStrategy Wiki
|This page is awaiting large-scale edits by the community to meet quality and format standards. The information on this page may be outdated. Join the #wiki-general channel on the Dominion Discord server to participate.|
|When you gain an Action card during your turn, you may spend 2 Favors to play it.|
The City-state is an Ally from Allies. It allows you to spend Favors to play Action cards immediately upon gaining them—an effect similar to the Project Innovation.
 Official FAQ
- If you gain an Action card in your Buy phase (such as by buying it), City-state can still let you play it then; if it gives you +Actions, that won't let you play more Action cards in your Buy phase, and if it draws you Treasures, you can only play them if you haven't bought anything yet.
- City-state can only play a card that's still wherever it was gained to (normally the discard pile) but can still play a card in your discard pile if it was covered up by other cards.
- City-state only works during your turns.
 English versions
|When you gain an Action card during your turn, you may spend 2 Favors to play it.||Allies||March 2022|
 Other language versions
|German||Stadtstaat||Wenn du während deines Zuges eine Aktionskarte nimmst, darfst du 2 Gefallen einlösen, um sie zu spielen.|
 Secret History
Originally just one Favor, which was nuts. Also it had the wording where you set aside the card, and check if you did. That went away with a rules change: now you can't play a card you can't find (though you can replay it, meaning Thrones on Horses still work).