|This page is awaiting large-scale edits by the community to meet quality and format standards. The information on this page may be outdated. Join the #wiki-general channel on the Dominion Discord server to participate.|
|Type(s)||Action - Spirit|
Will-o'-Wisp is an Action-Spirit card from Nocturne. It's a lab variant that only draws an extra card if it's sufficiently cheap. The card is not in the Supply, but can be gained either by receiving The Swamp's Gift or by playing Exorcist. There are 12 copies of Will-o'-Wisp.
 Official FAQ
- If the revealed card does not cost or less, leave it on your deck.
- Cards with Alchemy and Empires) do not cost or less. or in the cost (from
 Other rules clarifications
Will-o'-Wisp is a cantrip that becomes equivalent to a laboratory when it draws a cheap card. As Laboratory costs , this card can be surprisingly powerful. It synergizes with itself, and also with other cheap cantrips, such as Pearl Diver, Hamlet, Settlers, Pawn, Page, Ratcatcher, Pixie, Border Guard, or Town Crier; adding this card into a deck with sufficient cheap cantrips makes it a more reliable lab. Another obvious synergy is Lighthouse which provides a pseudo-silver that can be drawn by this card. It can become even more reliable in engines that provide cost reduction, such as Bridge or Highway, where it can provide the extra draw with cards costing or even more. Another synergy is Cellar which can both be drawn by this card, and can cycle unwanted low-value cards such as coppers or estates drawn by it.
The difficulty of gaining this card, however, limits one's ability to build engines based on it; it is best seen as a beneficial addition to an already-strong engine rather than its cornerstone. When playing exorcist, this card cannot be gained from trashing of coppers; thus it is usually only obtained by trashing estates. The boon that provides it is also unreliable. Once your deck contains one or more Imps, this card becomes relatively more attractive because it self-synergizes whereas Imp does not, so occasionally one might choose to obtain it from trashing a more expensive card that has outlived its usefulness. Usually, this card is obtained as the "least harmful" gain when playing Exorcist to trash cards.
In a typical game this card tends to be more powerful early, where it draws the starting cards including copper or copper-equivalents, and estates, helping to draw more money and/or cycle estates, so it gives a bigger boost the earlier you get them. It can also help to cycle through curses, providing a weak counter to cursing on top of the trashing exorcist provides.
Especially in games where there are synergizing cantrips that offer +Buy, such as Pawn, this card can facilitate a rush strategy where the game ends on piles. In these games, the trashing of estates can occasionally result in an unintended loss, so care must be taken to watch points and piles when this card is in play with strong synergies.
This card can occasionally be a liability, such as in the presence of discard attacks, when you want to utilize a reaction to counter an attack and it thus dilutes your deck, or in a big money deck with terminal draw where it can be drawn dead.
 English versions
|Digital version has a cost ofrather than .||Nocturne||November 2017|
 Other language versions
 Secret History