|This page is awaiting large-scale edits by the community to meet quality and format standards. The information on this page may be outdated. Join the #wiki-general channel on the Dominion Discord server to participate.|
|The player to your left names a card. Gain a card costing up tothat hasn't been named for War Chest this turn.|
War Chest is a Treasure card from the second edition of Prosperity. It is a gainer that allows your opponent to block you from gaining a specific card.
 Official FAQ
- The first War Chest you play in a turn can't gain whatever card they name; the second can't gain the card they name, or the card they previously named, and so on.
- The gained card comes from the Supply and is put into your discard pile.
- You can still gain the named cards other ways, just not via War Chests.
- They do not have to name a card in the Supply; however War Chest gains a card from the Supply, and puts it into your discard pile.
 Other Rules clarifications
Multiple War Chests in one hand get worse rapidly, and therefore a third War Chest is almost always a mistake and even a second copy is weak. Therefore, War Chest is generally only strong in Kingdoms with two or more other 5-cost cards. Additionally, those 5-cost options should not be terminal draw or other cards which anti-synergize with themselves.
A War Chest will, at worst, gain a Silver, and in the late game will likely gain a 5 of your choice from the kingdom as your opponent will ban Duchy. However, this is quite weak for the price.
The usual best case for War Chest is a kingdom with either multiple engine cards that synergize and self-synergize, or a mix of strong terminal actions and strong Treasures, some at 5 and some at 4. In this case, the pieces banned by your neighbor can be purchased normally.
However, this situation tends to present other opening moves which are competitive, so War Chest tends to be powerful only on boards where something else is even more powerful, making it always stack up poorly against its competition.
 English versions
|The player to your left names a card. Gain a card costing up tothat hasn't been named for War Chest this turn.||Prosperity (Second Edition)||June 2022|
 Other language versions
|German||Waffenkiste||Dein linker Mitspieler nennt eine Karte. Nimm eine Karte, die bis zukostet und die in diesem Zug noch nicht für eine Waffenkiste genannt wurde.|
Contraband was a cool idea, but you basically never want it. You want to buy the cards you want, especially when it's oh Provinces. And being a Gold for doesn't make up the difference.
War Chest fixes that by being a big Workshop; there just have to be two things you'd be happy to gain with it.
 Secret History