|Gain a Province. If you do, +9 .|
Dominate is an Event from Empires. It gives the player a Province plus 9 tokens, for a total of 15 . It has the most expensive cost of any card or Event in the game, and can be thought of as the next step up on the basic Victory card chain from Colony.
- This does nothing once the Province pile is empty.
Other rules clarifications
- If you exchange the Province with a Silver or a Changeling, you still get +9 . But if you Possess a player and make them buy Dominate, no one gets +9 .
Dominate is a powerful source of alt-VP with very good efficiency and density (i.e. a large amount of scored compared to Buys used, spent, and number of stop cards added to your deck). Although Dominate relies on the Province pile, it is similar in effect to Colonies: there is a higher density and larger total amount of available, and its presence tends to require and reward additional building. In order to buy Dominate, you need a deck with both strong draw and strong payload, likely in the form of an engine; in some Kingdoms, building one may not be possible, and so buying Dominate may not be feasible.
The higher density and greater total amount of available has some important effects. Most crucially, you can easily come from behind using Dominate against an alternative method of scoring. This is because it will generally outscore most other sources of : two Dominates score as many points as three Colonies and also provide more than the complete pile of Duchies.
Dominate relies on the Province pile, so it behaves differently from typical alt-VP strategies. In particular, you can sometimes opt to buy two or more Provinces instead of Dominate; while this may be a less efficient way to score, it brings the end of the game much closer and helps you threaten to conclude it. By the same token, if buying Dominate would allow an opponent who has also been buying Dominate to simply buy out the remaining Provinces and win, you may be in a potential Duchy dancing situation. Conversely, unlike a scoring strategy that relies solely on Provinces, Dominate provides over half of its in VP tokens, so you can potentially trash the Province and still keep a significant amount of . This is most relevant with trash-for-benefit cards like Salvager or Apprentice, which can trash a Province to help you get your next Dominate. Milling effects via Remodel variants can also be useful.
There are several interactions that arise because Dominate is an Event rather than a Victory card. On the negative side, cost reduction (such as that of Highway) does not reduce the cost of Dominate. On the other hand, buying Dominate does not entail buying a card, which negates attacks such as Haunted Woods and allows you to sidestep the drawbacks of Mission.
|Gain a Province. If you do, +9 .||Empires||June 2016|
Other language versions
Why does Dominate have "if you did?"