From DominionStrategy Wiki
|This page is awaiting large-scale edits by the community to meet quality and format standards. The information on this page may be outdated. Join the #wiki-general channel on the Dominion Discord server to participate.|
Trash a card from your hand. For the rest of this turn, when you trash a card, +.
Priest is an Action card from Renaissance. It is a trasher that gives for each card trashed for the rest of the turn in which it's played. The benefit from Priests is cumulative and throneable.
 Official FAQ
- When you play this, you get + , trash a card from your hand (mandatory), and then for the rest of the turn, trashing a card (from anywhere) will give you + .
- This is cumulative, even if the same Priest is played multiple times (such as with Scepter).
- For example if you play two Priests and trash two Coppers, you will get + total: + from each play of Priest, and + that the first Priest gives you for the second Priest trashing a card.
- The bonus works even if the card was not trashed from your hand; for example you will get +Acting Troupe due to playing it, or for trashing a card from the Supply with Lurker (from Intrigue). for trashing an
- With Sewers, the extra trashing from Sewers happens before the "For the rest of the turn" ability happens, so you don't get + for that trash.
 English versions
Trash a card from your hand.
For the rest of this turn, when you trash a card, + .
 Other language versions
Priest is a trasher, and rewards you for further trashing. Play Priest, get +Copper. Play a second Priest, get + , trash a Copper, get a + bonus from the first Priest. Play a third Priest, get + , trash a Silver (you ran out of Coppers), get + from the first Priest and + from the second Priest. See how it goes? Try to have enough stuff to feed them., trash a
 Secret History
This started out giving you an Artifact if you trashed a card costing or more; the Artifact had you draw a card each time you trashed a card. Sometimes the Artifact felt really important, and it sucked to have to eat your deck to fight over it. I tried changing the condition to "if you trashed a card that hadn't been trashed yet," then dropped the Artifact, and switched to getting a bonus per trash right on the card. The bonus was + first, but I also tried +1 Coffers for comparison. It gets rid of some tracking but I liked + better.
 Further development history
+1 Coffers is nice for handling the tracking. If they had been close I would have gone with the handled-tracking option. So, they weren't close. I can guess that +was just more exciting, more potential for a bonanza.
My feeling for some years was that "while this is in play" was better than "this turn," as evidenced by e.g. Bridge Troll not matching Bridge. But, focused on simplicity for Renaissance, I decided that "this turn" was actually the simpler thing. People get tripped up by "while this is in play" in various ways. The card will normally be in play - I don't need to blame new cards for Procession.
If I had anticipated the Sewers question, I would have looked harder at putting the "this turn" ability ahead of the trashing on Priest. It was something I considered, but it seemed simpler to have the + at the top, and well I didn't anticipate the question.