|Trash a card from your hand. Gain two cards onto your deck, with one costing exactlymore than it, and one costing exactly less than it, in either order.|
Develop is an Action card from Hinterlands. It is a terminal remodeler that can gain more cards than it trashes. Its utility is highly dependent on the Kingdom; it benefits from having useful cards in the Supply at a variety of costs.
- First trash a card from your hand, if able.
- If you trashed a card, gain two cards, one costing exactly more than the trashed card, and one costing exactly less than the trashed card.
- The gained cards come from the Supply; gain them in either order, resolving any abilities due to gaining them also in that order.
- If there is no card in the Supply at one of the costs, you still gain the other card if you can.
- Put the gained cards on top of your deck rather than into your discard pile.
- If you trash a Copper, which costs , you will fail to gain a card costing - (and try to gain a card costing ).
Other Rules clarifications
- Even cards that are normally gained directly into your hand, such as Guardian, Ghost Town, Night Watchman, or Den of Sin, are gained onto your deck instead by Develop. However, Villa does end up in your hand, since its ability moves it to your hand after gaining.
- You first choose a cost either more or less than the trashed card, and gain a card of that cost; then you gain a card costing the other amount. You don't choose both cards and then gain them; you select one and gain it, and then select the other, and gain it. This can matter if gaining the first card triggers on-gain effects that affect your decision about what to gain for the second card.
- What matters is the cost of each card at the time you're gaining cards, not at the time you play Develop.
- For example, If you start your turn by Developing a card costing Silver (costing ) as your first gain, then you could gain a Destrier as your second gain: although Destrier cost when you played Develop, your first gain reduced Destrier's price to and it's now eligible for your second gain. and gain a
- If you start your turn by Developing Wayfarer, and you gain a Duchy (costing ) as your first gain, then you could gain a Gold as your second gain. Although Wayfarer cost when you trashed it, gaining the Duchy reduced the Wayfarer's cost to , meaning your second gain must cost .
Develop is a trash for benefit card whose strength varies greatly depending on the Kingdom. In the early game, it primarily functions as an Estate trasher which is particularly useful if there are good cards that you want to topdeck (and possibly less useful if Poor House is in the Kingdom). Silver and Develop are always available at the pricepoint, but Develop is much stronger if there are more valuable options such as Village or Gear.
Later, Develop can become a powerful gainer if there are cards available at the right price points. While a card like Remodel can always turn Gold into Province, there isn’t a similarly always-available use for Develop, so in some Kingdoms it can be difficult to use. However, Develop becomes highly valuable if it can, say, turn Silver into a Mining Village and a Lackeys which it puts on top of your deck, either helping you continue your current turn or ensuring your next turn will kick off. These situations are not all that common: for example, many villages cost and many terminal draw cards cost , so there is no way to Develop a card into one of each. But when there are useful cards that are apart, along with a card at the intermediate price that you can trash, Develop can be very strong. In Kingdoms with cards at sequentially increasing pricepoints (e.g, Kingdom cards at , , and alongside Gold and Province), Develop can be thought of as a card that gains you value equal to what you trashed: trashing a card nets you a and , for a net increase of , while trashing a gets you a Province and a to start the cycle again.
Develop is particularly useful with cards that are designed to be trashed with trash-for-benefit, such as Fortress or Rats. Fortress also helps solve another problem with Develop: the fact that it’s terminal; in general, if you want to gain-and-play cards using Develop, you will need a lot of village support.
External strategy articles
Note: Article(s) below are by individual authors and may not represent the community's current views on cards, but may provide more in-depth information or give historical perspective. Caveat emptor.
| Trash a card from your hand.
Gain a card costing exactly more than it and a card costing exactly less than it, in either order, putting them on top of your deck.
|Trash a card from your hand. Gain two cards onto your deck, with one costing exactlymore than it, and one costing exactly less than it, in either order.||Hinterlands (2016 printing)||December 2016|
Other language versions
|German||Aufbau|| Entsorge eine Karte aus deiner Hand.
Nimm dir eine Karte, die genau mehr kostet als die entsorgte Karte
nimm dir eine Karte, die genau weniger kostet als die entsorgte Karte. Du entscheidest, in welcher Reihenfolge du diese beiden Karten nimmst. Lege beide Karten sofort auf deinen Nachziehstapel.
|Aufbau|| Entsorge eine deiner Handkarten.
Nimm auf deinen Nachziehstapel in beliebiger Reihenfolge zwei Karten, von denen eine genau mehr als sie kostet und eine genau weniger als sie kostet.
|Polish||Rozwój||Although Polish version is not released, this card is referred to in the Polish version of Empires rulebook|
Donald X.'s opinion