|Trash 2 cards from your hand. If you did, gain a Silver to your hand.|
Trading Post is an Action card from Intrigue. It is a trasher which lets you trash 2 cards from your hand and replace them with a Silver card; this enables you to trash cards while still having enough to buy something.
- If you have only one card in hand, trash it and nothing else happens; if you have 2 or more cards in hand, trash exactly 2 of them and gain a Silver, putting it into your hand.
Other rules clarifications
Trading Post is a slow trasher and Silver gainer that can still be worthwhile, particularly if you can acquire it early on. While it only thins one net card, the difference between the cards trashed and the Silver gained is significant in the early game, especially given that you can use the Silver on the same turn. The ideal scenario for Trading Post is to buy it in the opening if you can afford it with a / split or some ancillary effect such as Borrow; this ensures that you will draw it with plenty of junk to trash and can add payload immediately, likely meaning you can afford another important pricepoint. Because of its high price and terminal nature, Trading Post is often skippable if more accessible options for thinning are available (e.g. Forager), and it’s rare to want more than one copy.
Thinning with Trading Post means it is difficult to trash a single junk card if the rest of your hand consists of good cards you would prefer to not trash. Occasionally, it can be worth selecting a Silver as one of your trashing targets, which produces the net effect of trashing a single card without gaining anything; once you have got rid of your junk, turning two Silvers into one can also be useful if you need to continue to thin stop cards.
|Trash 2 cards from your hand. If you do, gain a Silver card; put it into your hand.||Intrigue 1st Edition||July 2009|
|Trash 2 cards from your hand. If you did, gain a Silver to your hand.||Intrigue 2nd Edition||October 2016|
Other language versions
|Chinese||商棧 (pron. shāngzhàn, lit. inn)|
|Czech|| Obchodní místo
(lit. place of business)
|German||Handelsposten||Entsorge 2 deiner Handkarten. Wenn du das getan hast, nimm ein Silber auf deine Hand.|| 2. Edition|
one or more other
versions listed here
|Hungarian||Vándorpiac (lit. wandering market)|
|Japanese||交易所 (pron. kōekijo)||手札2枚を廃棄する。2枚を廃棄した場合、 銀貨1枚を手札に獲得する。|
|Korean||교역소 (pron. gyoyeogso)|
|Polish||Faktoria||Wyrzuć na śmietnisko 2 karty z ręki. Jeśli to zrobisz, dodaj kartę Srebrników i weź ją na rękę.||(2016)|
|Выкиньте 2 карты из руки. Тогда получите Серебро в руку.|
This was originally in the main set, from way back when. When the main set went from 25 cards down to 20 cards, I cut this as being somewhat redundant with Mine. When we went back up to 25, I didn't add this back in; I wanted more variety. It does not seem nearly as redundant here. It's not the Smithy / Envoy problem; Trading Post and Mine are plenty different, they're just both ways to improve your money. It's more of a Smithy / Library / Council Room deal. But you know there was only so much space in the main set.This card started out as "trash a card from your hand; gain another card with the same cost." That's incredibly weak, which was immediately obvious. After a few quick iterations I ended up with Trading Post as it exists today.