|This page is awaiting large-scale edits by the community to meet quality and format standards. The information on this page may be outdated. Join the #wiki-general channel on the Dominion Discord server to participate.|
Gain a card costing up to .|
You may trash this.
If you do, gain a card costing up to .
Engineer is an Action card from Empires. It is a gainer that can trash itself for an extra gain, but has a Debt cost so it can't gain copies of itself.
 Official FAQ
- Engineer cannot gain copies of itself, or any other card with cost. in the
- When you play it, you gain a card, then may trash Engineer to gain a second card (which can be the same as the first or different).
There is no strategy article for Engineer, yet. Feel free to add your thoughts below!
 English versions
|Gain a card costing up to. You may trash this. If you do, gain a card costing up to .||Empires||June 2016|
 Other language versions
 Secret History
 Relevant outtakes
 Why was the VP version dominating?
Some players buy some, maybe eager to get copies of some cantrip everyone likes, like Caravan. The Caravans run out. Now the workshop is making +1 . That's attractive so people start getting more of the workshops. The people who already have them want a 2nd pile to run out and help empty the workshops. Now they make +2 per hit and there are ten of them in decks so players scramble for while the workshops empty the Estates.I had a couple early games that were stupid because of this card. Then for a while the card seemed fine. But we started to see the bad cases more and it was clear that one reason we hadn't been seeing them was because we hadn't realized how good the card was.
 Why shouldn't Engineer empty itself?
It's not "it's awful that this pile runs out," it's "it's awful that you can choose to run out this pile incidentally." What you want is Caravans. But instead of gaining a Caravan, you trash the workshop and gain a Caravan and another workshop. You're running out the workshops as this random extra thing you're allowed to do on top of what you actually wanted, which was gaining Caravans.Some players will just automatically do this; they can do it and that's enough for them. They exercise their power. And it sucks. It's anti-fun, so the card doesn't do that.