From DominionStrategy Wiki
|Type(s)||Action - Victory - Castle|
Trash this or a Castle from your hand. If you do, gain a Castle.|
Small Castle is an Action-Victory-Castle card from Empires. It allows you to trash a Castle you already have to gain a more powerful Castle.
- Small Castle gains you the top Castle, whichever one that is.
Other Rules clarifications
- You are allowed to choose to trash a Castle from your hand, even if you don't have any Castles in your hand, though this means you will not gain a Castle.
Refer to the Castle strategy section.
| Trash this or a Castle from your hand.
If you do, gain a Castle.
Other language versions
Trash a card to gain another card from its pile; there’s a proposition that’s not usually attractive. But with Small Castle, it means that you can potentially pick up a very powerful Castle later in the game for a fraction of the price.
Secret History by LastFootnote
The very first version in my prototype just had the "trash another Castle from your hand" part, but it became apparent pretty quickly that it needed the Feast option for all the times that it didn't collide (a.k.a. most of the time). So that ability got added before I handed it over to Donald.
For Small Castle, the "if" is so that one Small Castle doesn't turn into multiple Castles. I still want to do that; it affects how powerful the card is, and better matches intuition. I might reword it today though, because these days I don't like mandatory things to say "if you do." I don't need to rule it out completely but don't like it. It looks weird. I prefer a "you may" typically, though the "you may" is annoying online, where it has to ask you but you sure wanted to do the thing. Here as noted you might be able to say "to" instead. I guess the jury is still out on "to," is that really good enough for casual players.