|This page is awaiting large-scale edits by the community to meet quality and format standards. The information on this page may be outdated. Join the #wiki-general channel on the Dominion Discord server to participate.|
|Gain a card costing up to, then cards cost less this turn.|
Inventor is an Action card from Renaissance. It is both a gainer and a cost reducer; therefore playing one Inventor improves the range of cards you can gain with your next Inventor.
 Official FAQ
- First you gain a card costing up to ; then, after that happens, prices are lowered for the rest of the turn.
- The cost lowering applies to all cards everywhere, including cards in the Supply, in hands, and in Decks.
- It's cumulative; for example if you play two Inventors, the cost reduction from the first applies to playing the second (for example it could gain a Duchy, which would then cost ), and afterwards cards cost less for the rest of the turn.
 Other rules clarifications
- If you gain an Inventor with Inventor and then play the gained Inventor with Innovation, the first Inventor's cost reduction hasn't kicked in yet, so the second Inventor can still only gain a card costing .
- If you play the same Inventor multiple times with a Throne Room variant, costs are reduced multiple times.
- Even if you trash an Inventor from the play area (e.g., with Procession), the cost reduction remains in force till the end of the turn.
Original article by RTT
Inventor is the new hot Bridge-Workshop hybrid from the newly released Renaissance expansion. Inventor does two different things: it gains a card up to , and reduces the cost of all cards by afterwards. Let’s see how good that is on its own in different situations and how you can put both of these abilities to their best use.
 Playing a Single Inventor
In decks where you can only expect to play one Inventor per turn, Inventor functions like a Workshop that also gives you ++Buy, it can be even more efficient. In a “single terminal kingdom” that’s going to be pretty rare, but hey, maybe you got Inventor from the Black Market. A Workshop with + attached for doesn’t sound like a bad deal at all. The downside of a Workshop is often the lack of economy on the turns you play it. With Inventor you don’t sacrifice early economy as much and still get the powerful gaining effect.. If you have a source of
 Stacking Inventors
Luckily, Inventor can do even better when you play it more than once, because the gaining part synergises really well with its own cost reduction. The second Inventor play is already much more valuable than the first, becausecards are some of the most powerful cards in Dominion. With every Inventor you play, you will be able to gain a more expensive card than before. In many kingdoms, there won’t be a or card that you want to gain though, making the 3rd and 4th play somewhat equal to the second in power level.
From the 5th play onward, Inventor is able to gain Provinces.
 Megaturning with Inventor
Unlike Bridge, you usually cannot rely on just Inventors as your payload for a megaturn style deck. Playing 7 Bridges can empty the Provinces, while 7 Inventors will just gain 3 of them. So for a megaturn you will either need to play even more Inventors (which will be really hard if the pile is at all contested), or find other cards to supplement your deck. Ideally, extra buys paired with good economy work will make the most of Inventor’s cost reduction.
In practice, I find Inventor decks work out a bit differently than one might expect. Because gainingand cards (including more Inventors) is so strong already, your deck will improve more quickly, and you will be able to empty the Provinces over 2 or 3 turns more easily than trying to gain them all in one turn.
Inventor gaining so many cards will also naturally drain the piles, making a three-pile ending much more likely. Keep in mind that Inventor can gain Duchies a lot faster than Provinces, so maybe you want to 3-pile with Duchies instead if the situation calls for it.
- Throne Room variants (stacks the cost reduction like Bridge)
- Highway which enables even a single terminal Inventor to get 5-cost cards, such as Highway itself.
- +Buys or other gainers
- Cantrips or Villages you don’t mind gaining extra copies of to enable big Inventor turns
 English versions
|Gain a card costing up to, then cards cost less this turn (but not less than ).||Renaissance||November 2018|
|Gain a card costing up to, then cards cost less this turn.||Renaissance (2021 printing)|
 Other language versions
 Secret History