|Type(s)||Action - Command|
|Play a non-Command Action card from the Supply costing up to, leaving it there.|
Overlord is an Action-Command card from Empires. It plays another Action in the Supply that you choose, leaving it there, and is a Debt card.
Unofficial FAQ (2020)
- This plays a non-Command Action card from the Supply costing up to .
- Command is a type that appears on cards like this; it has no meaning beyond stopping these cards from playing each other.
- Overlord can only play the top card of a Supply pile.
- The played Action card stays in the Supply; if an effect tries to move it, such as Encampment trying to set itself aside, it will fail to move it. If the card checks to see if it was trashed, such as with Mining Village (from Intrigue), that part will fail, but if it does not, like Acting Troupe (from Renaissance), the rest of the effect will still happen.
- Since the played card is not in play, "while this is in play" abilities (such as Highway's from Hinterlands) will not do anything.
- Leave Overlord in play until the Clean-up of the turn the card it played would have left play. Normally that means you'll discard it that turn, but if Band of Misfits plays a Duration card (Duration cards are in other expansions), it will stay out like the Duration card would have, and if Band of Misfits plays a card like Throne Room that plays a Duration card twice, it will stay out in the same way the Throne Room would have.
- If you play Overlord multiple times, such as with Throne Room, leave it out until the Clean-up of the turn that the last of the cards it played would have left play.
- Overlord cannot play a Crown during a Buy phase, since normally Overlord itself is not a Treasure and so cannot normally be played in Buy phases.
Other rules clarifications
Overlord, along with Band of Misfits, was one of the main cards affected by the 2019 errata. Instead of imitating the abilities of an eligible Action card in the Supply—which raised rules questions—it now simply tells you to play said card, leaving it in the Supply.
- See the tracking rules for interactions with Durations.
- Overlord plays similarly to Band of Misfits, so see the other rules clarifications there.
Deprecated official FAQ (2016)
Deprecated rules clarifications (2016 2019)
As a Command card, Overlord provides an alternative way of playing Action cards costing at most , which can be useful, especially in the early game. If there is a card that you would like to play as soon as possible (often a trasher or junker, for example Recruiter), opening with an Overlord can be a strong move, effectively allowing you to play the card as soon as if you had opened with /, regardless of your actual opening split. Usually when opening with Overlord, it’s best to buy it on turn 2 so you can get something else alongside it, though if there is nothing good to buy on turn 1 you can buy Overlord immediately, leaving you with only after the opening.
As with other cards costing shuffle as possible by delaying payment of the until the next shuffle. Often this type of play can leave you in a cycle of buying Overlord turn after turn, as you are unable to afford anything other than Overlord after repaying the from last turn’s Overlord. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but it's worth considering the alternatives. If you plan on playing with a card costing or more it may be necessary to buy nothing for a turn so you can afford it. Furthermore, you usually want to buy a limited number of Overlords in total. This is because it's a very expensive card., it’s usually best to buy Overlord immediately before shuffling your deck. This lets you get as many good cards into your
This high price is Overlord's main weakness. While its Smugglers (which can’t be used to poach Overlords) and Knights (which can’t trash Overlords), or with cards that have negative on-gain effects (such as Lost City and Cursed Village), or with cards such as Wine Merchant and Acting Troupe which have downsides which are mitigated when played by a Command card.cost means you can buy it whenever you don’t already have , you eventually have to pay for a card that is often doing the same thing as one that costs . Thus, the benefit of Overlord’s flexibility comes mostly from the first few copies and after that other cards are more efficient. Exceptions occur when there is some other benefit from Overlord’s unusual cost, as with
Overlord is also synergistic with cards such as Trading Post which are primarily useful the first few times you play them. In this case, it’s usually better to play Overlord as Trading Post rather than gaining an actual Trading Post, as this avoids the problem of having a dead card later on. Another notable Overlord synergy is with effects which allow you to gain multiple Overlords cheaply, some via the Exile mechanic (such as Camel Train and Transport), and some by other means (e.g. Way of the Rat and Kiln).
Overlord is best in Kingdoms where there are both strong terminals and strong non-terminals. This is because you can play Overlord as a terminal when you have the terminal space to do so and play it as a non-terminal when you do not. In this way, an Overlord gives the upside of a terminal without the downsides of terminal collision.
|Play this as if it were an Action card in the Supply costing up to. This is that card until it leaves play.||Empires||June 2016|
|Play an Action card from the Supply costing up to, leaving it there.||Dominion 2019 Errata and Rules Tweaks||September 24, 2019|
|Play a non-Command Action card from the Supply costing up to, leaving it there.||October 10, 2019|
Other language versions