(→top: added improve template)
|Line 1:||Line 1:|
|name = Ritual
|name = Ritual
Revision as of 17:36, 4 March 2021
|This page is awaiting large-scale edits by the community to meet quality and format standards. The information on this page may be outdated. Join the #wiki-meta channel on the Dominion Discord server to participate.|
|Gain a Curse. If you do, trash a card from your hand. +1per it cost.|
- This does nothing once the Curse pile is empty.
- This only gives you +1 per the trashed card cost; it does not give anything for or in costs.
Other rules clarifications
- Unlike similar cards or Events, Ritual cares about the cost of the card at the instant it is trashed, rather than checking on it later, when its cost may have changed.
One seemingly obvious target for this is victory cards, but the gain in VP tokens is almost entirely offset by the loss of VP the card represented (plus -1 and continued dead wood from the Curse). A Ritual applied to an Estate or Colony leaves you back where you started. Doing it to a Duchy or Province will net exactly 1 VP. Compare to Monument, a card that costs the same as this Event but will give you 1VP every time you play it.
Instead, this is best used near the end of the game to squeeze a final use from cards that don't otherwise provide VP, such as Gold or an unused Prince. Note that Peddler is usually not a good target for Ritual -- since you buy Ritual in your Buy phase, Peddler's cost is decreased when it is trashed, so this is only effective if you only played 0-1 actions on your turn.
|Gain a Curse. If you do, trash a card from your hand. +1per it cost.||Empires||June 2016|
Other language versions
Secret Historyper 2 Actions in play. It was a dud, then I tried trashing a card for , and there it is.