(→The Inheritance Rush)
(→top: added improve template)
|Line 1:||Line 1:|
|name = Inheritance
|name = Inheritance
Latest revision as of 17:12, 4 March 2021
|This page is awaiting large-scale edits by the community to meet quality and format standards. The information on this page may be outdated. Join the #wiki-meta channel on the Dominion Discord server to participate.|
|Once per game: Set aside a non-Command Action card from the Supply costing up to. Move your Estate token to it. (During your turns, Estates are also Actions with "Play the card with your Estate token, leaving it there.")|
 Unofficial FAQ for Current Version
- You can only buy this once per game.
- When you do, set aside a non-Command Action card from the Supply that costs up to Estate token on it (the one depicting a house). Command cards are a type of card from other expansions; Inheritance cannot set those aside. , and put your
- This is not gaining a card, and does not count for things that care about gaining, such as Treasure Hunter; however at the end of the game, include the card as yours when scoring.
- For the rest of the game, during your turns, all Estates additionally have the Action type and have the on-play ability "Play the card with your Estate token, leaving it there." For example if you set aside a Port, then during your turns, Estates are Action - Victory cards, that when played, in turn play the set-aside Port (which stays set-aside) for +1 Card and +2 Actions.
- This also changes Estates in the Supply during your turns as well; if you used Inheritance on a Port and then later bought Seaway, you may gain an Estate and move your +1 Buy token to that pile.
- The Estate pile, however, does not become an Action Supply pile (even though Inheritance explicitly says it's now an Action card), so you can't, for example, use Pathfinding to move your +1 Card token to it.
- This only affects Estates during your turns, not during the turns of other players or between turns.
- There are no limits on the set aside card other than being a non-Command Action from the Supply costing up to Duration card, a Reaction card, and so on. ; it may be a
- It does not have to continue costing up to , it only has to cost up to when set aside.
- Estates are still worth 1 when scoring at the end of the game.
- Estates do not copy the abilities or types of the set aside card; they just play it. Therefore they do not trigger abilities of the card below the dividing line that do not happen when playing the card, like gaining another Port when buying a Port, and are not the Bane for Young Witch from Cornucopia even if the set-aside card's pile is the Bane.
- When you play the Estate, you then play the set-aside card.
- The set-aside card stays set-aside; it does not move to the play area and if an effect tries to move it, such as Guide moving to your Tavern mat, it will fail to move it.
- Normally this will just mean that you follow the instructions on the set-aside card each time you play an Estate. For example, with Port set-aside, you would play the Port and get +1 Card and +2 Actions.
- You also would trigger tokens like +1 Action on the pile of the set-aside card.
- If you have an Estate play a set-aside Duration card (with your Estate token on it), or a Throne Room on a Duration card, the Estate will stay in play the same way the Duration card or Throne Room would.
 Other Rules clarifications
- After moving your Estate token to a card, on your turns Estates are Emulators, so see the tracking rules there for interactions with Durations.
- Effects for "While this is in play", and "When you discard this from play" do not happen, especially hurting Highway.
 Official FAQ for Prior Version
- You can only buy this once per game.
- When you do, set aside a non-Victory Action card from the Supply that costs up to Estate token on it (the one depicting a house). , and put your
- This is not gaining a card, and does not count for things that care about gaining, such as Treasure Hunter; however at the end of the game, include the card in your deck when scoring.
- For the rest of the game, all of your Estates have the abilities and types of the set aside card. For example if you set aside a Port, then your Estates are Action - Victory cards, that can be played for +1 Card +2 Actions.
- This also changes Estates you buy or otherwise gain during the game; if you used Inheritance on a Port and then later bought an Estate, that Estate would come with a Port, just as buying a Port gains you a Port.
- This only affects your own Estates, not Estates of other players.
- An Estate is yours if either it started in your deck, or you gained it or bought it, or you were passed it with Masquerade (from Intrigue).
- An Estate stops being yours if you trash it, return it to the Supply, pass it with Masquerade, or are stopped from gaining it due to Possession (from Alchemy) or Trader (from Hinterlands).
- There are no limits on the set aside card other than being a non-Victory Action from the Supply costing up to Duration card, a Reaction card, and so on. ; it may be a
- It does not have to continue costing up to , it only has to cost up to when set aside.
- Your Estates are still worth 1 when scoring at the end of the game.
- Your Estates only copy abilities and types; they do not copy cost, name, or what pile they are from (thus they don't trigger tokens like +1 Action on the copied pile, and are not the Bane for Young Witch from Cornucopia even if the copied pile is the Bane).
- Starting Estates come from the Estates pile.
 Other rules clarifications
Most Inheritance confusions are an issue of timing or ownership.
- After you buy an Estate, it becomes yours, and "when you buy this" abilities happen, then "when you gain this" abilities. After you gain an Estate without buying it, it becomes yours, and "when you gain this" abilities happen.
- If you Inherit a Grand Market, you can buy an Estate with Copper in play, because Estate does not have the abilities of Grand Market until after you already bought it.
- If you Inherit a Nomad Camp and buy an Estate, it is gained onto your deck; if you gain an Estate without buying it, it is gained to your discard pile, because Estate does not have the abilities of Nomad Camp until after you already gained it to your discard pile.
- If you Inherit a Fortress and trash one of your Estates, you put it into your hand and the Estate is still yours; if you trash an Estate that was not yours, such as trashing and Estate form the Supply with Salt the Earth, you do not put it into your hand and it is not yours.
- Some cards gain a card, and then care what types the gained card has. They check what types the card has after it is gained, when it it yours; for example if you Inherit a Village and Ironworks an Estate, you get +1 Card and +1 Action.
- Some cards trash a card, and then care what types the trashed card has. They check what types the card has after it is trashed, when it is not yours; for example if you Inherit a Village and Sacrifice an Estate, you get +2 only (and not +2 Actions).
- Fortress does not end up in the trash pile when trashed, and so it is still yours; for example if you Inherit a Fortress and Sacrifice an Estate, you get +2 Actions and +2.
- Your Estates do not have the abilities and types of the set aside card when scoring. This is a change from the original rules.
- Your Estates do not have the name or cost of the set aside card. For example:
- If you Inherit a card and play Baron, you can still discard an Estate.
- If you Inherit a Treasure Map and play an Estate, you trash the Estate and a Treasure Map from your hand - you cannot trash an Estate from your hand - but did not trash 2 cards named Treasure Map, and so do not gain any Golds.
- If you Inherit a Border Village and gain an Estate, you gain a card that is cheaper than Estate.
- If you Inherit a Crossroads and play an Estate, you can never get +3 Actions because it is not the first time you played a card named Crossroads that turn; you do get +3 Actions the first time you play a Crossroads each turn, even if you played an Estate earlier that turn.
- If you Inherit a Rats and play an Estate, you gain a Rats - you cannot gain an Estate - and then trash a card from your hand that is not a Rats, but can be an Estate.
- Estates in the Supply are not yours; they are normal Estates. The Estate Supply pile is not an Action pile. For example:
- Under extremely rare circumstances is it possible to play an Estate as a card an opponent Inherited; see this post for details.
Original article by faust
It is the craziest Event in Dominion so far (Sorry, Donate). It impacts the game like few other card-shaped things do, sometimes completely warping the way you approach building your deck. And, I think, it is still heavily underrated by a large part of the player base.
In this article, I try to highlight two different ways to incorporate Inheritance into your strategy, and also offer some thoughts on when going for Inheritance is the wrong move. This we will start with, because it is the easiest part.
 When to not go for Inheritance
If you see Inheritance in a kingdom, your first impulse should always be to ask yourself "Can I make Inheritance work here?" In most cases, you will want to use Inheritance, but there are boards on which you don't. Aside from obvious cases like, there is no possible Inheritance target, you should look for these conditions:
- Do you start with Estates?
- Is there a non-terminal action costing or less?
- Is there an easy way to buy/gain multiple Estates in a single turn?
If you answered at least two of these questions with "no", then you can probably ignore Inheritance. On the other hand, if you answered at least two of these with "yes", chances are you want to go for Inheritance in some way.
This evaluation is the easy part. But how to incorporate Inheritance into your strategy? There are two different strategy archetypes for this. I will outline them first and then talk a bit about when to go for which.
 The Inheritance Rush
In an Inheritance Rush, your first and most important goal is to buy Inheritance as soon as possible. After that, if your opponent also goes for Inheritance, your next move is usually to try and win the Estate split.
To reach your first goal, you must throw some of your Dominion wisdom out of the window: Trashing is not a priority. Instead, you should focus on getting . Copper-trashing can still be worth it if it also provides economy (like Moneylender/Counterfeit) or cycling (like Spice Merchant). But you want to hold on to your starting Estates, if you have those. This strategy wants to open with cards that can spike high price points (Baron excels at this; but even Coppersmith or Death Cart can be worth it). Events such as Save or Expedition are a big help too.
Also, remember that you will soon get three copies of some card at once; you may want to delay buying those. If your plan is to inherit Villages, don't buy one when you have only 2-3 terminals in your deck.
Once you managed to murder your parents and snatch the Inheritance, often you will want to get as many Estates as possible. They're good for your deck, and winning the split provides a comfortablelead over your opponent without slowing you down. At this point, you will need to add +buy and gainers to your deck, which you probably didn't want earlier since they don't help you reaching .
After the Estates have drained, you should have put together a decent deck. From then on it's just usual Dominion play until the end.
- Game 1 - Here I focus on economy early on (opening Moneylender/Silver) while my opponent chooses a more traditional trashing approach with Amulet. I never gain more Estates, but choosing the Inheritance Rush is still worth it.
- Game 2 - Here my opponent and I both choose to build similar engines, but due to using Inheritance, I get a sizable lead in and villages, prompting my opponent to resign.
- Game 3 - again I forego trashing in favor of more sifting (Dungeon), and use a spiking card (Wine Merchant) to get to Inheritance quickly.
 Inheritance as support
Sometimes, the Rush is not the way to go, but Inheritance may still be useful. If Inheritance is only used as support, then you play the game much like a usual game, but at some point - maybe instead of your first Province - you buy Inheritance. Playing "normally" means you focus more strongly on trashing, maybe even trashing your starting Estates.
You will reachmuch later in such games, and then you have to ask yourself whether Inheriting is still better than greening. Often enough, it will be.
There is less to say about this way to play Inheritance, since it is less a strategy on its own and more fitting Inheritance into whatever strategy you were already playing.
- Game 4 - here, the presence of Sea Hag turns the game into a slog, which means getting to will be hard. You still want to get Inheritance since Ironmonger is such a juicy target.
- Game 5 - here, lack of amazing targets means that building the engine takes precedence over inheriting, which is why I open Loan. I still luck into an early thanks to Borrow.
- Game 6 - my opponent goes for the Rush, while I focus on getting to Champion first. That turns out to be important, as I can later destroy his deck with inherited Pages and Warriors.
 When to go for which strategy
Now that we saw both ways to play Inheritance, let's tackle the most important question: When do you want to do which? Obviously, that one is not easy to answer. The main reason not to go for a rush are attacks. Going for the Rush often means delaying the attack, which is particularly bad with junking. Also, most attacks will actively prevent the other player from getting to anytime soon.
The other thing to consider is: would you normally open with the card you want to inherit? If your inheritance target is best in the earlier game stages, then the Rush is better. If it is more of a mid- to late-game support card, then you can also delay Inheritance.
Finally, I would like to address some more specific issues that may come up when playing with Inheritance:
Selecting the right target
Usually, the best target for Inheritance on a given board is glaringly obvious, but there are cases when things are not that easy. Usually, some cantrip is the best option - remember, you will have lots of them in your deck. Select a target that will not only benefit you for the next shuffle, but for the rest of the game. Sometimes, you might not want the cantrip at all if it does too little for your deck.
- Game 7 - I go for Scheme while my opponent picks Tournament. The problem with Tournament is that it's not a true cantrip - if I have a Province in hand and you have a hand of all Tournaments, it's a dud. Tournament just gets too risky in the late game, and my Schemes are just as good at lining up Tournament with Province.
- Game 8 - here, I sheepishly go for Wandering Minstrel (it's a cantrip after all!) while my opponent chooses Envoy, and that's just so much better in this Big-Money-like game.
This is a tricky one. Cost reduction enables you to Inherit more valuable targets, but it also means that you have to delay your Inheritance more than you'd like. The main problem is that Cost-reducers don't actually help you to buy Inheritance, so you better have some plan to get there. If you do, it can work out beautifully. These games are usually not Rushes, but only use Inheritance as support.
Cost, type, triggers, tokens
It's important to remember where your inherited Estates are like the original cards - and where they differ.
- Cost: The Estates still cost only . Remember this when planning to inherit Band of Misfits or Border Village.
- Type: You will have lots of Action-Victory hybrids in your deck. This is great for cards that care about that stuff (Crossroads, the Iron family, even Scout) and changes the interaction with some attacks (Rabble gets hard-countered while Bureaucrat gets stronger).
- Triggers: The Estates become yours as soon as you buy them, and stay your until they are trashed. That means you can make use of any on-buy, on-gain or on-trash triggers. Ever wanted to trash a Hunting Grounds, gaining 3 more Hunting Grounds?
- Tokens: Tokens placed on the pile you inherited from are sadly not copied, and you cannot place tokens on the Estate pile.
 English versions
|Once per game: Set aside a non-Victory Action card from the Supply costing up to. Move your Estate token to it (your Estates gain the abilities and types of that card).||Adventures 1st Edition||April 2015|
|Once per game: Set aside a non-Victory Action card from the Supply costing up to. Move your Estate token to it. (Your Estates gain the abilities and types of that card.)||Adventures 2nd Edition||August 2017|
|Once per game: Set aside a non-Victory Action card from the Supply costing up to. Move your Estate token to it. (During your turns, Estates are also Actions with "Play the card with your Estate token, leaving it there.")||Dominion 2019 Errata and Rules Tweaks||September 24, 2019|
|Once per game: Set aside a non-Command Action card from the Supply costing up to. Move your Estate token to it. (During your turns, Estates are also Actions with "Play the card with your Estate token, leaving it there.")||October 10, 2019|
 Other language versions
Inheritance is one of the available backgrounds in Dominion Online.
 Secret History